Book: One More Chance

"One More Chance"

Is love enough to make a person feel fulfilled and happy?

Meet Popoy and Basha, two lovers who believe they are destined to be together forever. Practically inseparable, everyone around them knows there can be no Basha without the ever strict Popoy. Nor would Popoy exist without his damsel, Basha.

But when one of them realizes their feelings for each other can no longer make them feel content, they resolve to search for themselves outside of the safety of each other.

Will Popoy and Basha find happiness apart, or will they learn to give love One More Chance?

If I were to answer that question? I was happier when Popoy and Basha were apart. Much happier. To the point that I breezed through the parts of the book where they weren’t together, and I fell in love with the character of Basha: a woman who saw how important it was to find herself, to save herself from a destructive relationship… Who became a better person for it.

And that oft-quoted scene where Popoy said “she loved me at my worst. You had me at my best?” I’ve always thought it was an epic piece of dialogue that made you feel for the male lead. Now that I know the context of the scene? I wanted to punch Popoy in the face. Multiple times. And I don’t know if I would’ve felt the same way had I not read the book and watched the film instead.

The thing about novelizations is that no matter how close to the material a writer gets, you can’t help but add nuances and thought into the characters. I have never seen One More Chance as a film so I have no way to compare the two, but I do feel like Popoy got the short end of the stick in the novelization. Sure, we get an equal amount of time between the two characters and their motivations. But while Basha comes off as a sympathetic character, Popoy comes off as a douche most of the time.

Unless that’s how it was with the film too. I wouldn’t know. It’s just that… Throughout the book, I never thought Popoy deserved Basha. Which is why I really appreciated the fact that they weren’t forced to live happily ever after. Because I feel like Popoy should do more to earn Basha.

And he will get a chance to do that, when A Second Chance, the sequel to the 2007 film, comes out on November 25. Because of course One More Chance would have a sequel. Basha didn’t really get the closure she needed, and as romantics, Filipinos will always look for that happy ending.

I’m just hoping that however it ends, the characters would stay true to themselves. That they choose what would make them happy, and not what would satisfy the fans of the original film.

All that said, I have to commend writer Juan Miguel Sevilla for a well-written novelization that really gives body to the characters–and does not rely on knowledge of the film. The novelization of One More Chance can stand on its own. And the artwork by married couple Elbert Or and Lorra Angbue-Te add a much appreciated romantic whimsy to the whole package. I have to say though, the editor should do a better job at proofing the book. There were a number of glaring pronoun confusion within the book.

[Disclaimer: I was approached by ABS-CBN Publishing Inc to write about this book, but this is not a paid advertisement. The thoughts I wrote down are my own.]

2 thoughts on “Book: One More Chance

Leave a Reply

