Movie: The Scorch Trials

"Maze Runner: The Scorch Trials"

In this next chapter of the epic Maze Runner saga, Thomas and his fellow Gladers face their greatest challenge yet: searching for clues about the mysterious and powerful organization known as WCKD. Their journey takes them to the Scorch, a desolate landscape filled with unimaginable obstacles. Teaming up with resistance fighters, the Gladers take on WCKD’s vastly superior forces and uncover its shocking plans for them all.” (C) Fox

I thought I wrote about the first movie here in my blog–but, apparently, I thought wrong. I mean, I remember defending the film’s choices somewhere. That’s neither here nor there though, since whatever positive thing I might have said about the first film, I’m going to have to take back for the second one.

So, let’s begin:

My biggest problem with the film adaptation of The Scorch Trials is the fact that it isn’t an adaptation. They took the most basic information about the story, took it apart, and then wrote a story of their own. Which wouldn’t have been a problem if the film actually improves on the story–but it doesn’t.

This leads me to the second biggest problem with the film: there aren’t a lot of characters, and yet, not one of them gets any character development. Not even the main character. Sure, the book it’s based on didn’t really do much with the potential it had for character development–but at least it had some. And what did we get instead of this?

Chase scenes. Action sequences. Drugged dreams. Explosions galore. And tying them all together? Boring desert scenes.

I wasn’t expecting something life-changing when I decided to watch The Scorch Trials. I’ve read the book. I knew what I was getting into. But, come on. This film not only disrespected its material–it disrespected the people who bought tickets to it as well.

It didn’t even try to explain why the film was called The Scorch Trials. Oh wait, that’s right: they omitted the actual scorch trials.

I feel bad for the actors who are contractually bound to this film franchise. Because this movie? Isn’t any good. At all.

Leave a Reply

