Book: Call Me Irresistible

"Call Me Irresistible"

Meg knows that breaking up her best friend’s wedding is the right thing to do, but no one else agrees. Faster than Lucy can say “I don’t,” Meg’s the most hated woman in town–and stuck there with a dead car, an empty wallet, and a very angry bridegroom. Broke, stranded, without her famous parents watching her back, Meg believes she can survive by her own wits. After all, what’s the worst that can happen? She’ll lose her heart to Mr. Irresistible?

Not likely. Not likely at all.

Reading a romance novel written by a female author, you see where male romance writers usually get the romance wrong. The latter makes it a point to make their romances dreamy, ideal…perfect. Women writers like to deal with the mess of true love–and that’s why, I think, they’re the better writers. Because they understand that a love story doesn’t end with the realization of true love, it ends when your lead characters have realized exactly why they can’t be together–and yet work things out in a way that they still end up with each other.

It’s always a little clean-cut by the time the novel ends, but if it’s written well, you wouldn’t really mind. And in the case of Susan Elizabeth Phillips’ Call Me Irresistible, you wouldn’t even notice.

I don’t really read a lot of romance novels anymore. The recent ones I remember are from Rainbow Rowell, Jude Deveraux, and Nicholas Sparks. Rowell’s Landline failed to impress me as much as her other works, and I would say the same for Deveraux. As for Sparks… Well, I haven’t been impressed with his works for a long time. Guy likes to cop out on his premise.

Reading a romance novels means I’m in the mood to escape reality totally, and to surrender my imagination to the (always) quirky world that these books usually contain. It also means that I can be overly critical when I don’t get absorbed by the book. I’m happy to report that I have no critiques for Phillip’s Call Me Irresistible. I’d even go as far as to say that this is the most fun I’ve had reading something that isn’t young adult for quite a while.

I couldn’t put the book down.

The banter between the main characters is fun, and the development of their love story doesn’t feel forced. It feels natural that the most beloved man in town would find an unlikely confidant with the girl most reviled by his adoring constituents. (Oh, yeah, I forgot to say, Mr. Irresistible is the town mayor.) And, eventually, it feels natural that said confidence would bloom into romance.

Although, I must say, I wasn’t really a fan of the sex scenes. We can argue that it’s important in the development of both characters, that it’s a feminist approach in reclaiming sex as a power that both woman and man can hold–but, I felt that the author could’ve found a different way to push the relationship between Meg and Ted closer, so that it would fall apart.

But that’s just me.

Here’s what other people have to say about the book:
Dear Author
A Romance Review
The Washington Post

Leave a Reply

