Book: Wickedmouth Unang Putok

"Wickedmouth: Unang Putok"

If I were to translate the title, I’d call it: Wicked Mouth, the First Bang. Why not explosion? Because, for some reason, I don’t think the author was referring to an explosive entrance when he thought of the title. Although, if you color that green….

Wickedmouth, the book, is basically a collection of recollections by an author whose mind is seeped in sexual innuendos…and blatant sexual thoughts. If there’s a book I would compare it to, it would be the very first Bob Ong book: ABNKKBSNPLAKo. Except with an R-18 tag, instead of the PG-13 that Bob Ong would’ve gotten.

Actually, the book comes with a parental advisory for explicit content.

A little warning if you do decide to buy this book. The humor gets some getting used to. Wickedmouth isn’t your typical funny “memoir.” It’s mean, it’s green, and it’s unapologetic. If you can’t find the fun in other people’s misfortunes, this book might not be for you.

I think I’m secure enough with my moral compass that I can admit finding most of the book funny. Because, it is. In a dark way. The book’s voice is basically that secret voice you use with your closest friends when you talk about someone you don’t like–or someone you’re very close with that you’ve become very comfortable with playfully bashing each other.

I wouldn’t want to be friends with the author though.

Wickedmouth is available in local bookstores. I found (and bought) my copy from National Bookstore.

2 thoughts on “Book: Wickedmouth Unang Putok

Leave a Reply

