Book: Eleanor & Park

"Eleanor & Park"

Red hair, wrong clothes. Standing behind him until he turns his head. Lying beside him until he wakes up. Making everyone else seem drabbier and flatter and never good enough…Eleanor.

He knows she’ll love a song before he plays it for her. He laughs at her jokes before she ever gets to the punch line. There’s a place on his chest, just below his throat, that makes her want to keep promises…Park.

Set over the course of one school year, this is the story of two star-crossed sixteen-year-olds–smart enough to know that first love almost never lasts, but brave and desperate enough to try.

You know how movies get novelizations that either take away from the action of the book, or give so much more than what the movie already offered? Eleanor & Park is not like that.

Eleanor & Park is a movie in book form; with no additives, and with nothing taken away.

I think I can safely say that no other book has affected me this much. I can’t stop feeling. There is so much feeling in this book, and I’m already on the part where I’m trying to analyze what makes the book good, and tears are still falling.

No, I’m not bawling my eyes out. I’m just tearing up. My heart has been torn out, torn down, and I’m tearing up. And I can’t stop.

This is the first time I’ve read anything from Rainbow Rowell. A few friends I’ve met through this book blog thing have raved about her books. Fully Booked sold out on her books back in December. Eleanor & Park was hyped too much. And I expected too much. And the book still exceeded those expectations.

I understand that I’m not making much sense at the moment. It’s only been minutes since I put the book down.

But I will say this: I think I already found the book that will define my 2014. Much like David Levithan’s Every Day became the benchmark for 2013, all the other books I’m going to be reading this year will have to contend with Eleanor & Park.

The funny thing is, when I started reading the book, I thought it was just an ordinary Young Adult novel about love and how we don’t see what’s really in front of us when we’re in love. And in a way, that remains true up to the end. But somewhere past the halfway mark, something changed. Suddenly, I cared that Eleanor & Park might not have a happy ending. And although the first page already warns us of this, you will hope that that event happens soon–and that they will be able to resolve whatever it is that will separate them.

And then the book ends. You’re just left crying your eyes out. And you’re left not knowing what hit you.

It’s perfect.

Now, excuse me while I go and let my heart bleed.

Go and check out what other people have to say about the book in the meantime:
Pretty Books
Cuddlebuggery
It’s All About Books

5 thoughts on “Book: Eleanor & Park

  1. Pingback: Fangirl | taking a break

  2. Pingback: Book: Landline | taking a break

  3. Pingback: Book: Una & Miguel | taking a break

  4. Pingback: Book: Carry On | taking a break

Leave a Reply

