Theater: Wicked in Manila

"Wicked"

A decade after it made its Broadway debut, Wicked finally came to the Philippines! And there was no way my friends and I weren’t going to watch it.

Wicked is the story of two girls who went to see the Wizard before Dorothy even came to Oz. It’s one of my favorite books for sentimental reasons… and those reasons are also why I love the musical. And why my friends and I have been looking forward for this musical to be staged here in the Philippines, so we can watch it together. And that’s also the reason (I’m using this word a lot) why I might have liked this production better than the one I watched in Singapore…although, if I’m not mistaken, it’s almost the same cast.

What I liked: how they utilized the smaller stage of CCP’s main theater, the light direction, the costumes–they made it work. And their Glinda was positively crazy.

What I didn’t like: nothing. Although, maybe because of certain expectations, I wasn’t very fond of Fiyero’s acting (or voice), nor was I pleased with the alterations in certain songs… like how this production’s Elphaba sung Defying Gravity.

I’m not going to write a lengthy reaction post to what I saw. Mostly because the experience is very much colored by the joy of watching it with friends. Emerald-colored glasses and all. But I would believe that everyone, and I mean everyone, would enjoy watching this musical while it’s still playing here in the Philippines.

So if you can find a ticket, buy the ticket. Watch and enjoy.

If you already have a ticket, and you already love the musical, then enjoy the show. Don’t set expectations, like I did.

And if you already have a ticket but have no idea what the show is going to be like…how is that even possible? But you’ll probably be the best audience, because this will seriously amaze you.

Get ready to see the Wizard.

One thought on “Theater: Wicked in Manila

  1. Pingback: Theater: Toilet, the Musical | taking a break

Leave a Reply

