Book: Nick & Norah’s Infinite Playlist

"Nick & Norah's Infinite Playlist"

Nick’s just seen the girl who dumped him walk in…with a new guy. What else can he do but ask the strange girl next to him to be his new girlfriend for the next five minutes?

Norah would do anything to avoid conversation with the not not-friend girl who dumped Nick…and to get over the Evil Ex whom Norah never really totally dumped. What else can she do but answer Nick’s question by making out with him?

With one electric, unexpected kiss, the five-minute couple of Nick and Norah set off on an uncharted adventured called the “first date” that will turn into an infinite night of falling in and out (and in and out, and maybe in and maybe out) of love. Theirs is a first date of music, laughter, heartache, confusion, passion, taxi driver wisdom, and a jacket named Salvatore. And of course a killer soundtrack.

As Nick and Norah wander through the middle-of-the-night mystic maze of Manhattan, they share the kind of night you want to never end, where every minute counts and every moment flickers between love and disaster.

Can you fall in love in the span of one night? Do you believe you can? Because that’s what Nick & Norah’s Infinite Playlist will ask you to do. Fall in love with good guy Nick and misunderstood Norah. Both are nice enough people. Both are flawed. And both will take you to an adventure of love that takes the whole night.

Confession: I’m not a gig guy. I’ve never been fond of going to bars and clubs because of a band I support. I have, but I’ve always found a way to stand from a distance. I’ve never been the guy to scream within the throngs of people, swaying and jumping and screaming to the beat. Okay, maybe for Jason Mraz, but that’s the limit. And you wouldn’t want to scream a song during a Mraz concert. You sing along, you appreciate, you sway–but you don’t scream.

And I’ve gone off tangent.

So, not a gig guy. But I’ve been to. I sort of understand the thrill. I can definitely understand the energy. And the people described in the novel are just some of the characters you’ll encounter during a trip to the local dive.

I know a Nick. I wish I knew a Norah, but I’m sure we’ve already crossed paths without ever talking to each other. I know a Thom, I know a Caroline… Heck, I know a Tal. And this is why I liked reading Nick & Norah’s Infinite Playlist.

No, it’s not because I can attribute the characters to people I know. I like the book because the characters feel real. I like the fact that, even though there are two writers, it feels like the book is written by just one because the characters stay consistent.

And I love how Rachel Cohn and David Levithan show us how being neurotic can ruin a relationship even before it begins. I like how they use their characters to push their other characters into doing things that feel natural. Organic, even.

I like how it doesn’t mean that just because you two are the main characters mean you’re already set for life. I love how the obstacles don’t feel forced, and most of them come from our protagonists themselves, and not from outside forces–although they play a part.

I love how their friends act like real people, and not just sounding boards and plot pushers. I love how they have their own lives.

And although I’m iffy about the one night love story, I love the fact that it doesn’t end on happily ever after. The characters are young. Things will happen. And at the risk of spoiling, I love the fact that authors Cohn and Levithan don’t wrap it all up with a nice bow in the end.

There’s a promise. A maybe. But nothing is definite.

Because nothing ever is.

And that is the magic of Nick & Norah’s Infinite Playlist. It’s the now. It’s possible and the possiblity.

It’s brilliant.

Leave a Reply

