Book: Parasite

"Parasite"

A decade into the future, humanity thrives in the absence of sickness and disease. We owe our good health to a humble parasite–a genetically engineered tapeworm developed by the pioneering SymboGen Corporation. When implanted, the Intestinal Bodyguard worm protects us from illness, boosts our immune system–even secretes designer drugs.

It’s been successful beyond the scientists’ wildest dreams. Now, years on, almost every human being has a SymboGen tapeworm living within them. But these parasites are getting restless. They want their own lives… and will do anything to get them.

I was, and still am, a big fan of Mira Grant’s Newsflesh trilogy. So when I found a copy of Parasite at a local bookstore, I had to give it a go out of goodwill. I didn’t even know what the story was about. I just picked the book up, bought it, and started reading.

Less than 24 hours later, here’s what I have to say: Mira Grant has another winner with Parasite.

As a thriller, the book works. It takes one of the biggest horrors of the Newsflesh trilogy, humanity’s reliance on medicine–on living for as long as possible, and spins it off to a new story. But don’t fret. Parasite does not tread on ground that’s already been covered by Mira Grant’s other series. It goes the other way. And, if possible, makes the monstrosity that humanity is capable of creating even more horrifying.

I do have one thing I want to bring up though. The central mystery with regards to the hot, dark, red dreams our main protagonist is experiencing throughout the book? It’s not really a mystery if it pretty much spells out what protagonist Sally Mitchelle doesn’t want to confront. So instead of feeling fear and trepidation about what’s happening with Sally, you just want to tell the book to get a move on as there are more exciting things happening outside of her head.

Oh, and after the massive reach of Feed, Deadline, and Blackout, I was expecting Parasite to be as… global. It’s not. There are times when you feel like Sally’s world exists in a bubble.

And yet none of these two concerns detract from the overall experience of reading Parasite. It’s a good thriller.

I just hope that the sequel is better.

If you’re not content with what I said though, why don’t we take a peek at what other people have said about the book. Starting with…
Respiring Thoughts
Sci Fi Now
Looking for the Panacea

2 thoughts on “Book: Parasite

  1. I had fun with this! There’s a lot of info dump again, but since I’m used to it from Feed, I knew it was all used to set the scene.

    But oh, I remember expecting zombies to pop up somewhere in the book. Haha. It’s kind of hard letting go of them.😀

    • I agree that there’s a lot of info to digest, but I quite enjoyed them as it really grounded the fantastical aspect of the book. And yes, I’m sure Grant (what’s her real name again?) already planted some useful stuff in those dumps for later mining.

      And I know what you mean! Haha! When we started with the three neighbors in the cold open having dead eyes? I thought they were zombies!😀

Leave a Reply

