Book: The Superior Spider-Man, Issue #17

"Superior Spider-Man 017"

I want to start by saying this: I have no clue who Spider-Man 2099 is. I must say though that this Miguel O’Hara, the Spider-Man of Tomorrow, looks oddly a lot like Peter Parker. Although, from what I understand, he’s supposed to be Hispanic. But let’s not open that can of worms.

Now, let’s begin.

What I liked about the issue is the fact that we’re seeing the Green Goblin stewing and planning. It gives the series a sense of foreboding, of a promise that things are once again heating up. I also liked that we saw a bit of the life becoming a little more normal for Doc Ock as Peter Parker. Sort of. And I actually kind of like the idea that someone from the future comes to the past.

What I didn’t like was the fact that the threads opened up in the last issue, the ones connected to Carlie Cooper’s investigation, is once again dropped. And I really don’t give a flying shock (to borrow the expression of Spider-Man 2099) to the clash between the Spider-Man of now and the one of tomorrow. It’s a new plot horned into an existing plot that’s just about to take off. If that doesn’t scream “filler,” I don’t know what does.

The issues have a lot more happening, I’ve noticed. I just hope the team doesn’t forget what makes the Superior Spider-Man different from other Spider-Man titles. The fact that our hero is actually a villain trying to reform.

Leave a Reply

