Third Anniversary

"Third Anniversary"

I can’t believe it’s been three years since I started this blog. I feel like it was only yesterday when I decided to do branch out into a serious blog. Then again, I also feel like I’ve been doing this forever. But that’s probably because I’ve been maintaining a blog of one form or another for ten years now. Ten years.

Before anything else, here’s a look back at the past year on the blog:

Most of the stuff that’s getting a lot of traffic, are the press releases for Magpakailanman; although, only two Magpakailanman posts actually makes it to the Top 10 most viewed pages for the past year. This aren’t paid advertisements, as I’m part of the show. But seeing as how people seem to always be reading these posts, I have to think of ways to make it more engaging. More discussion worthy.

The rest of the eight entries in last year’s Top 10 are equally distributed to the Books and Movie category–all of which are works by Filipinos. I’ve noticed this since the blog started that my posts on Filipino works get more traffic than my posts on books from other countries. I don’t know why, but that’s actually one of the reasons why I started the modified Filipino Friday.

There are people looking for Filipino works. Let’s make it easier for them to find it, right?

Entering the fourth year of Taking a Break, I’ve noticed a lot of things that I need to work on. I like to think that my writing has improved, but I know I can still do better.

I’m also starting to see where I want to take my writing. When I started this blog, I tended to be on the defensive. I always end with a disclaimer that what I wrote is purely my opinion as a reader–not as a critic

But am I not a critic? Not a good one, sure, but the fact that I am writing about someone else’s work–does that not make me a critic? I’m not objective, nor am I academic. But that shouldn’t matter. The point is, I always stand by what I say–unless you convince me otherwise.

This is why, from this point on, I will refrain from distancing myself from my opinion. I will welcome discussion–which I have been doing for the last few posts. And I will do my best to be more eloquent in my writing.

I am curious though. To those who are regularly reading my posts, what are the things I need to work on? What parts of the blog should I improve?

Help me make this blog better.

And thank you for always being there.

Leave a Reply

