Movie: Man of Steel

"Man of Steel"

A young boy learns that he has extraordinary powers and is not of this Earth. As a young man, he journeys to discover where he came from and what he was sent here to do. But the hero in him must emerge if he is to save the world from annihilation and become the symbol of hope for all mankind.” — (C) Warner Bros

I didn’t hate it… I just didn’t like it.

There it is. I didn’t like it. I didn’t like how half the movie was exposition that took forever to share. And I didn’t like how the rest of the movie was explosion after explosion. And I didn’t like how our character’s growth was all over the place.

And I can’t help but compare it to Batman Begins, whose director produced and wrote Man of Steel. I wasn’t a Batman fan before, and that movie converted me. And while I didn’t expect for that to happen with Man of Steel, I did expect that this would have a solid storytelling like Batman Begins did.

I mean, I know it’s hard to reboot a story that’s already been told over and over again. This is actually why I didn’t have high expectations for the Man of Steel. Unlike with Batman, I’m actually very familiar with Superman’s origins story. And it doesn’t help that Smallville, the television series, ran for ten years.

This is why I wasn’t looking for an original take on Superman’s origins. I just wanted a cohesive one.

Instead, we get one that jumps from time to time, from planet to planet, and then we get bombarded by sequences that wouldn’t look out of place from Will Smith’s Independence Day.

What saved the movie, for me, was the actors. Henry Cavill and Amy Adams were wonderful. So were Kevin Costner, Diane Lane, and Russel Crowe. Even with the disjointed storytelling, they were very effective in portraying their roles: the heartbreak, the longing, the letting go. Awesome actors. Especially Henry Cavill, Kevin Costner, and Diane Lane.

I thought Laurence Fishburne was horribly underused, as was Harry Lennix. But, what can you do? That’s how they were written.

And my biggest disappointment with the story?

[SPOILER ALERT]

Superman kissing Lois back, near the end of the film.

I get why Lois would kiss him, that part was clear. But why Superman would do the same–that irked me. That was never developed. Sure, it makes him more humanly male, but… I dunno.

I thought it would’ve worked better had Superman not responded to the kiss. Lois didn’t deserve a lust kiss.

[END OF SPOILER ALERT]

Maybe I’ll try to catch the movie again and see if it gets better the second time. But at this point, I really don’t recommend Man of Steel. Especially if you’re expecting Batman Begins levels of epicness.

One thought on “Movie: Man of Steel

  1. Pingback: Movie: Thor, the Dark World | taking a break

Leave a Reply

