Event: The Jason Mraz Concert

"Jason Mraz and the Band"

Last March, I received the best news on my inbox–Jason Mraz was going back to the Philippines! And after a couple of failed attempts at purchasing a ticket over the phone (TicketNet said they weren’t available yet, when their own website and the newsletter Jason Mraz’s team sent out said it should already be), I finally finagled a couple of tickets on the TicketNet website.

It was around 500 pesos more expensive than the advertised price, and it wasn’t the best seat. Good thing this is Jason Mraz. All seats are good seats because he knows how to put on a show. And what a show it was.

Oh yeah– the concert was last night. And it was awesome. A-W-E-S-O-M-E.

Now, I have a pretty bad track record when it comes to Jason Mraz concerts, wherein I’m always coming from somewhere and cutting it close. This is the first time though, I think, that I didn’t even catch the front act. Not that I minded. I’m not a fan of Zendee Rose. No offense, her type of singing just doesn’t jive with me.

Fortunately, I was able to catch the Jason Mraz part of the concert.

Back in 2011, when he was last here, I was a little let down with the whole shebang. But that was coming from his 2006 intimate nights that were simply astounding. I enjoyed the both times I went, but there was something magical about the 2006 concert that the 2011 one didn’t have.

The magic is back though. Last night.

Yesterday is the first time I’ve seen Jason Mraz perform with a band, come to think of it. The first two of his concerts I’ve been to, it’s always just Toca Rivera with him. Awesome duo, but as I said, there was a certain lack of something in the second time.

The band definitely marks last night as an experience that can’t be compared to the first two.

But, really, the best part of it all is that Jason Mraz seems to be enjoying himself more nowadays. And the way he interacts with everyone is amazing. He has chemistry with the whole band, and their joy at performing is palpable–and contagious.

I don’t know about the other parts of the Coliseum, but our area was standing, stomping, clapping and singing along with the band. It was a exhilarating.

The mix of songs favored his most recent album release, but Jason clearly hasn’t forgotten the ones that really made an impact in the Philippines, singing The Remedy, You and I Both, Lucky, Make it Mine, interspersed with his more recent songs. And, of course, he had to have I’m Yours as his finale.

There was a medley somewhere during the concert too. A medley that transitioned organically from one song to the next, thanks to the great performances of the band.

I’m still on a high from last night.

And I can’t wait for the next time he comes back.

3 thoughts on “Event: The Jason Mraz Concert

  1. Pingback: Book: Nick & Norah’s Infinite Playlist | taking a break

Leave a Reply

