Movie: Iron Man 3

"Iron Man 3"

Marvel’s Iron Man 3 pits brash-but-brilliant industrialist Tony Stark/Iron Man against an enemy whose reach knows no bounds. When Stark finds his personal world destroyed at his enemy’s hands, he embarks on a harrowing quest to find those responsible. This journey, at every turn, will test his mettle. With his back against the wall, Stark is left to survive by his own devices, relying on his ingenuity and instincts to protect those closest to him. As he fights his way back, Stark discovers the answer to the question that has secretly haunted him: does the man make the suit or does the suit make the man?(c) Disney

Oh. My. God.

That seems to be a fitting reaction to Iron Man 3. Seriously. Watch it. Then see if that can be your reaction too. And no, that wasn’t the first thing that came to mind while the credits started rolling, but there were certain circumstances that, well, I’d rather not get into. Oh my God is what I’m feeling right now though, some twenty minutes after seeing the tag scene.

Seriously. The movie was epic.

Now, going back a bit, I enjoyed the first Iron Man film. Immensely. I thought it was perfect. But I wasn’t a fan of the sequel. It was a good summer film, sure, but it just wasn’t up to par with the first film. It felt a little unnecessary. And Tony Stark, let’s admit, is way too powerful to be a hero we can root for, and most of the things he was going through were a little, well, shallow.

It’s not a surprise that I’m a little hesitant with the third film. Iron Man, as we saw in the Avengers film, is even more invincible. He’s done so much more with his suits. What can the people behind Iron Man 3 do to make Tony Stark relatable again? How can we root for him again?

Well, the people behind Iron Man 3 certainly knew how.

I think I can safely say that this is the best out of the three Iron Man movies. Hands down. There’s something about Robert Downey Jr.’s acting that really draws you in deeper into Tony Stark’s dilemmas, and Gwyneth Paltrow is just–let’s just say that Pepper Potts remains as my favorite Marvel movie-verse female protagonist.

The movie actually spoils its end-twist from the get go, but the journey that takes us to the reveal is filled with many awesome moments. None of the characters feel tacked on, and everyone is doing something to propel the story forward without it feeling forced. Because, let’s be honest, no one expects Iron Man 3 to be a study on character and the superhero psyche. Though, it does do that a little.

The movie is action after action after action, but it’s the in-between scenes that really make this a really good, and a really memorable movie.

And I really want to talk more about the film, but I fear that I might spoil things that I shouldn’t.

Let me just say this: I want to watch it again. And to those who are apprehensive about the hype: Bloat your expectations. The movie is that awesome.

Now, who wants to discuss the film with me?

5 thoughts on “Movie: Iron Man 3

    • Nope. Everything in the movie is perfect. … Well, probably not. But it’s that well-made, that you’ll be willing to forgive any inconsistencies. 🙂

  1. I haven’t watched it yet, but I can’t WAIT for it’s release May 3. I’m really loving all the positive reviews, it’s making the wait even more agonizing.

  2. Pingback: Movie: Thor, the Dark World | taking a break

Leave a Reply

