Taking a Break supports ‘Saving Sally’

"Saving Sally"

image used with permission from Avid Liongoren

Marty, the geek, is an aspiring comic-book artist who is secretly in love with his beautiful best friend, Sally, the gadget inventor. Like every love story, there are complications: Sally has abusive monster parents and a literal dick for a boyfriend, while Marty has the innate ability to do nothing about everything despite his vivid fantasies of defending the love of his life from the big bad world.

That’s the synopsis creator Avid Liongoren provides TousCoprod, the European Kickstarter where a Frenchman is campaigning for the completion of the film.

A bit of background, I first heard about Saving Sally when Rhian Ramos mentioned it in passing during an interview around three or four years ago. Oh, yeah, in case you didn’t know, I used to interview celebrities for a living. Digression aside, what Rhian said about the film had me intrigued. Unfortunately, waiting for Saving Sally was like waiting for Godot.

I wanted to support the film then, but I’m not really rolling in cash. And then I left that job and, well, I forgot about Saving Sally.

Until someone posted about it on Facebook. And then I remembered. And now I had the means to support the film. Unfortunately, TousCoprod wants Euros. Of which I have none. So I e-mailed creator Avid Liongoren and asked how I could help out financially without having to go through the European Kickstarter.

You can find out how by visiting the website for Saving Sally.

In exchange, creator Liongoren agreed to answer a few questions for my blog:

Taking a Break (TaB): What inspired you to make Saving Sally? Where did the story come from?

Avid Liongoren (AL): I wanted to produce a project that combined actors & lots of drawings (since I’m an Illustrator first & foremost). As for the origins of the story, it’s nothing amazing. The story was written by an old friend based on collective experiences of us & our other friends. Every boy (or girl) has once (or many times) carried a torch for someone special who was with a jerk (or a dick).

TaB: Has the story changed at all from when you conceived it and shot it? How different is the Saving Sally you’re making now to the one you started out with?

AL: Refined, but not changed. If Saving Sally started out as a cheese omelet we ended up with an omelet with mushroom & onions & bacon bits & more cheese… but it’s still an omelet.

TaB: You’ve done a lot of things since you started Saving Sally. You’ve directed ads, mainstream short films (like Party Pilipinas‘s ‘Red Mask’)–has that affected how you’re editing the film?

AL: Our edit has been locked for almost 3 years now. A necessary thing since all we have been doing is building & refining the world around the edit. So no, my other work does not affect our pipeline.

TaB: Why the decision to mix live action with computer-generated images and effects?

AL: Because that is what I’m good at? Also, it was the best way to tell our story.

(“Computer-generated” creates this image of high end visuals, we don’t have that, the film is very low-fi in terms of vfx, we are workig on the other end of the vfx spectrum & we are going for warm charm & not the woah factor, since we are incapable of that)

TaB: Have you seen Tiktik: the Aswang Chronicles? What are your thoughts on the movie, and do you think it will affect how people will receive Saving Sally when it comes out seeing as they employ the same idea of mixing live action with CGI?

AL: I’ve seen it & thought it was great & I’m so happy for them because they took a risk of spending a lot of money on a non Star Cinema type film & it paid off. I have no idea though how it will affect how people will receive our film, my mind is not there at all.

TaB: Aside from budget/finances, what has been the biggest challenge in getting Saving Sally off the ground?

AL: Finding a girl to replace our first Sally & doing the film again from scratch (story told here by the screenplay writer).

TaB: If you could go back in time and tell your past self all the problems that Saving Sally would face–would you have still gone through with making it? Assuming you say yes, what would you have changed then to make the whole thing easier for you without sacrificing the quality of the film you want to make?

AL: Tito Boy Abunda is that you, nasaan ang Magic Mirror? : D

If I could go back in time, I’d still do the film BUT give myself winning lotto numbers : )

And… that’s it. Obviously, I’m a little rusty on the interviewing front. Apologies.

But before I completely sign off, I encourage those who are looking for a project to support to, well, support Saving Sally. They have rewards for donations/financial help, so you don’t feel like you were cheated off your money. But trust me, seeing this film completed would be reward enough.

Check out the Saving Sally website to find out how to donate!

Leave a Reply

