Television: Doctor Who and the Bells of St. John

"The Bells of St. John"

The Doctor’s search for Clara Oswald brings him to modern day London, where humanity lives in a wi-fi soup. But something dangerous is lurking in the signals, picking off minds and imprisoning them. As Clara becomes the target of this insidious menace, the Doctor races to save her and the world from an ancient enemy.

After reading reviews that weren’t favorable to the mid-premiere of Doctor Who’s latest series, I admit I got a bit more curious as to what actually happens in the episode. That said, I did worry that we might end up with a wrap-up like what we got for The Power of Three, but I must say, I don’t mind the denouement we got for The Bells of St. John. In fact, I like how they cut it close. It gives the episode a sense of unfinished business that’s gonna come back before the series ends.

You know, kind of like what the cracks in the wall did for Series 5.

I thought the whole episode was brilliant. Though, mind you, I might need a little time to get adjusted to the third iteration of clara. I loved her in Asylum of the Daleks, and equally so in The Snowmen–but with this new version… I have to get used to the fact that she’s not as feisty as the other two.

Then again, I get a sense that the Doctor is meeting Clara now at her most basic form. And that, slowly, we will unravel the Clara we met the two times before.

We have to hand it to Moffat. He does know how to get people hooked on a mystery. I mean, just who is this twice-dead girl and why does she keep popping up in the Doctor’s life?

Brilliant reveal at the end too, by the way. Although I was spoiled, I admit that I was still a little surprised at a returning character’s reappearance in this episode. I must say, it really fits the theme.

What’s jarring though is how so many things that happened in the episode make me harken back to previous Moffat episodes: The Empty Child, The Doctor Dances, Blink, and Forest of the Dead. All great episodes. And The Bells of St. John is great too. It’s just– it does feel a little like Steven Moffat is running out of new ideas, doesn’t it? It’s probably just the stress of having to run two well-loved shows at the same time though. Maybe.

I’m really excited for next week’s episode now.

At the same time, I also can’t help but think–well, that’s another episode closer to another hiatus.

2 thoughts on “Television: Doctor Who and the Bells of St. John

  1. Pingback: Television: Doctor Who and the Cold War | taking a break

  2. Pingback: Television: Doctor Who and the Name of the Doctor | taking a break

Leave a Reply

