Happy New Year!

"Happy New Year"

Hello to you, dear reader. Happy new year!

Don’t worry. You haven’t stumbled on to a wrong blog–unless, this is the wrong blog and you meant to go somewhere else. If so, might I interest you to stay? Take a peek into my other blog posts, it’s nice here. Just a person talking about books, and television shows, and movies, and recently, travels.

If you did mean to go here, welcome back. And yes, I’m actually doing a post that isn’t about books, or television shows, or movies, or theater, or travels. That’s a lot of ‘or’s. Orrr. Can you hear my r’s rolling? No? Sorry. Let’s get on to what I was going to say in the first place.

There will be a bit of tweaking here at Taking a Break. Number one is this. I’m going to blog here now. Well, not all the time, and I think I’ve moved on from posting long-winded rants about how unfair life is. It’s nearly a decade since I was a teenager, I think it’s time I’ve learned to live and deal with whatever life throws at me. So no–or, at least, I hope not–you won’t be reading any gripes or rants about my personal issues here.

I have decided to let go of my livejournal account though. So whenever something interesting happens in my life, you can expect me to write about it here. That might mean I’d have to change the blog’s name, but until my personal life starts taking over this blog, I think “Taking a Break” is still safe.

Next on the agenda; I’m going to start incorporating Filipino Fridays the whole year round–and not just when there’s an event we book bloggers have to promote. So every Friday, my scheduled post will be something Filipino–may it be a book, or a film, or a television show–it’s going to be a surprise for every week.

I’m also going to do my best to post two book reactions every week. A promise, not a resolution. There were times last year that I was able to do three to four book reactions a week, so I know I can do it. I’m just lessening the number of my promised post, so that I don’t feel pressured. This is, after all, my taking a break blog. It’s supposed to be for me to take a break in, not for me to take a break from.

I do have big plans for my blog this 2013. I’ve already done two book launch videos, and one interview for an independent film. I plan to do more of that, time permitting, for this new year.

You might also notice that press releases will start to trickle in. I haven’t sold out, and I’m not turning this place into a portal for press releases. All I’m doing is promoting television programs (or books, or films) that I myself would want to see (or read, as the case may be). So when you do see a press release here on Taking a Break, rest assured, it’s something that I do believe is worth seeing (or reading).

I was thinking about scheduling days for particular posts, but I don’t think I can live up to it for a month–what more a whole year. So instead, I’m leaving a promise: that I will not disappear for months at a time again. Not after the two long dry spells of last year.

Here’s to 2013. May it be prosperous for all of us.

Oh, and if you’re wondering about the picture above–that’s me at the Matamata Tourism Center, trying to look lost.

2 thoughts on “Happy New Year!

  1. Happy New Year, Jason! Confession: I’ve been lurking in your blog.:) And I loved your post about your New Zealand trip. Love your avowed commitment to Filipino Friday. Why not host it?;) Here’s to a great 2013 for all of us!

    • Happy new year, Honey!🙂 Thank you for lurking.😀

      And I don’t know about hosting Filipino Friday. I did terribly during the two times I ‘hosted’ it, two years ago. And my Filipino Fridays will actually be like my normal posts–except, I’ll be writing about something Filipino-produced🙂

      And yeah! Let’s have a great 2013!

Leave a Reply

