Book: Is It Just Me?

"Is It Just Me?"

Of all the books on the shelf, just look wahat you’ve gone and picked up! Give yoruself a round of applause, even if you’re in public. I dare you. What a lovely moment that would be. I advocate that as much as adults galloping or people wandering into an optician to try on the most unflattering and amusing glasses for no good reason. It’s what I call ‘making your own fun’. Because you have to really, don’t you? Let’s face it, life does have a tendency to throw up difficulties…

That’s not a lot to go on, I know, when deciding to buy a book. But I didn’t really need to rely on a book synopsis to know that I will enjoy reading Miranda Hart’s sort-of autobiographical book that’s also trying to be a self-help book.

Is It Just Me? is Miss Hart’s recounting of her attempts at navigating life–and, for the most part, failing humorously.

I admit, the only reason I even bought this book was because I was seriously missing my dose of Miranda-flavored laughs. Ever since I saw a clip of her sitcom on YouTube, I was hooked. Her humor might be a little self-depreciating at times, but she wears her freak flag high. She’s proud of who she is and who she has become, so you don’t feel bad for laughing at her mistakes and other mishaps. Because you feel like you’re laughing with her, instead of at her.

And if you enjoy watching her sitcom, you’re bound to enjoy the book as much as you do the television series. It’s basically the same thing, except, instead of watching, you’re reading what’s going on. Oh, and the fact that the sitcom’s fictional, and the events in the book really did happen in real life. Or so our dear author chum writes.

One thing though. Miranda really does write for a specific audience–the British variety. Fortunately for me, I’m pretty up-and-up with British po culture, having grown up with a preference for British music (thanks to Smash Hits and Top of the Pops), and having been exposed to a lot of British telly (in the past, and even until now). Also by preference. I don’t think the rest of the world’s population can say the same thing. I doubt if, my sister for instance, would get most of the things I found funny in the book. And that’s even after the fact that she also enjoys Miranda’s sitcom.

Also, the book has a tendency to be quite tiring. Not in a bad way. It’s just that, as a reader, I got caught up with the author’s excitement. And after reading each chapter, I kept finding myself in need of a lie down.

The good thing is, this being a biography of sorts, there’s not really a lot of room for cliffhanger-type chapter endings. You can put the book down. And in fact, the book might even have been more enjoyable for me had I opted to put it down from time to time.

But that’s just me.

Let’s see what other people have said about Miranda Hart’s Is It Just Me?:
Jason’s Book Reviews (which I must link, because–look at what the blog’s called!)
bookoxygen
The Big Issue

Leave a Reply

