Book: Skyworld, Volume One

"Skyworld, Volume One"

Every legend hides a lie.

A murdered Skygod re-emerges in modern-day Manila. A Tikbalang prince plots vengeance for the death of his father. And the Queen of the Asuang unleashes the mythical Bakunawa upon the streets of the city.

Caught in their age-old struggle is Andoy, a crippled orphan that discovers he is the fulfillment of a prophecy dating back to Lapu-Lapu himself.

I liked it–and I don’t really know why.

I mean, it has the elements that I’m looking for in a fun story. There’s Filipino mythology, there’s action, and there’s a story-arc that runs deeper than it looks.

But even though I did say that I liked it, there’s still something missing. For a “volume one” it barely scratches the surface of a bigger story. And considering the fact that there are only two volumes, I am afraid for what the second volume contains. I’m hoping it’s not a cop out. I’m hoping there’s a better story. I’m hoping that it accomplishes the promise of the first volume.

Would I recommend it though? Get back to me when I read and write about the second volume.

Leave a Reply

