Book: Love Story

"Love Story"

He is Oliver Barrett IV, a rich jock from a stuffy WASP family on his way to a Harvard degree and a career in law.

She is Jenny Cavilleri, a wisecracking working-class beauty studying music at Radcliffe.

Opposites in nearly every way, Oliver and Jenny immediately attract, sharing a love that defies everything…yet will end too soon. Here is a love that will linger in your heart, now and forever.

Love means never having to say you’re sorry.

It’s a touching response to when you’re the one apologizing; but I don’t actually believe that that statement is true. As human beings, making mistakes is part of every day life, and there are times when you simply don’t know that you’ve hurt the one you love. I think saying sorry is important. It may not say that you’ll never hurt them again, but it does say that you feel bad for having done so. Not saying sorry might actually cause more problems for your relationship than the actual mistake.

In Love Story though, author Erich Segal does make you believe in that powerful love that allows you to say “love means never having to say you’re sorry.” That is, until you put down the book and all bets are off.

It’s a very popular book, if the blurb on the cover can be believed. “More than 21 million copies sold.” That says a lot of people bought it, so they must have liked it. Right?

I did. Well, I did while I was reading the book. Thinking about the book and the story though, I couldn’t find reasons to like Oliver or Jenny. No, they were not made perfect–the author gave them flaws. They fight, and they can annoy each other. And they love each other. They’re supposed to be real people. Except they don’t feel real. Not after you put down the book anyway.

Truth be told, I’ve been putting off writing about this book for months. Why? Because every time I read it, I feel the love. Of the characters. For the book. But whenever I actually sit down and try to put into words why I like it, I can’t think of anything to put down. I can give you a list of things I didn’t like easy, but not the reasons why the book moved me.

With Love Story, I guess the heart really is stronger than the mind. Much like the characters’ love for each other, we can find a million faults with it–but, in the end, what’s important is that you loved. And with that, I recommend Erich Segal’s Love Story to anyone looking to read about love.

And then afterwards, if you find your way back here, tell me what you thought about the story.

Leave a Reply

