Movie: I Do Bidoo Bidoo (Heto nAPO Sila!)

"I Do Bidoo Bidoo"

I couldn’t find a synopsis of the movie online, so just watch the trailer first:

Watched it? Did you like it? Or were you, at least, intrigued by the story–or even just the concept? I was.

I love APO, which is short for Apo Hiking Society, songs. I am familiar with writer-director Chris Martinez’s work, and so far I haven’t been disappointed with any of his films. And the film is co-produced by Unitel–which produced one of my favorite Filipino films–Crying Ladies. And I do I still need to mention that I like musicals?

So imagine my horror when midway through the movie, I realized that I wasn’t liking the film. At all. A couple more scenes later, and I was ready to walk out. (And, apparently, I wasn’t the only one who had the thought, as a couple did walk out in the middle of the movie.) The only thing that made me stay was the fact that it was made my Unitel. I was really hoping for an 11 o’clock save that would salvage the whole film. But nothing came. And the train wreck that was I Do Bidoo Bidoo sputtered to its end. It didn’t even crash and burn.

I think I’ve mentioned before that I measure how good a movie is by how much popcorn I consume. At the end of the movie, when the bucket is still full, that means I was so engrossed in the movie that I completely forgot about eating. A half-full bucket means I enjoyed it, but not enough to warrant my full attention. An empty bucket means the movie failed to hold my interest. So what does it say that twenty minutes into this film, and I’ve already consumed the entire bucket of popcorn I had with me.

During a lover’s quarrel, I found myself answering back to the screen in annoyance.

Somewhere after the middle of the film, I was already restructuring the movie in my mind. How could this have been better?

The sad thing is, I think they did pick the write songs for this jukebox musical. Unfortunately, they didn’t pick the right story. Nor did they get the right cast.

Well, save for Eugene Domingo.

Now, before you say I’m biased, take into account that I’ve seen Kimmy Dora 2. I am not riding from a Eugene Domingo high. In fact, whatever goodwill I had for her previous roles dissipated after seeing that movie. So I didn’t choose to watch this film because of Eugene. But after seeing the movie, I found myself saying that it was a good thing Miss Domingo was there, as she was the only saving grace the film had. The way she portrayed her character, and sung her songs, connected to the story at hand. She didn’t feel out of place in this musical world that Chris Martinez was trying to create.

I can’t say the same for the rest of the cast who looked like they were either making a music video, or performing on a concert stage.

Speaking of which, I absolutely disliked how the film chose to transition to songs. Especially the scene where Eugene’s character was being comforted by her friends. The scene started with them comforting her. Then cuts to a shot of the pots and pans. And then it pans down to Eugene and her two friends, in almost the same position, breaking out into a production number.

What? What the heck was the shot of the pots and pans for? Seriously?

And on the subject of useless set-ups;

What was the point of showing Zsazsa Padilla swimming with rose petals? Was there really a need to show Neil Coleta enjoying a night out on a bar full of Sam Concepcions? And why did the film have to set the opening at a traffic jam that only served to show Eugene at her cattiest? She’s catty for 90% of the film, it doesn’t really need establishing.

And I get symbolism. But Eugene’s character isn’t the one who is stuck in a predicament she has no control over.

I could go on and on about how much I disliked this film, but I don’t want to be the guy to tell people not to watch something–especially since this is a Filipino film, and I really want film studios to take more chances at making out of the box movies…

But, this movie was a terrible waste of my time. It was a messy mix of story lines thought up to connect beloved APO songs.

And, I really need to get this out of my chest: whichever graphic artist/special effects editor thought that a gigantic moon, not proportionate to its distance to Earth, would not go unnoticed should get fired. Stat.

4 thoughts on “Movie: I Do Bidoo Bidoo (Heto nAPO Sila!)

  1. Sad to say that you didn’t enjoy the movie. I haven’t watch it yet and I hope I do just to see if it’s nice like what all the people said it is. I LOVE APO songs and I guess that’s the main reason why I’m planning to watch it when I have time.

    • I’m not going to stop you from watching the movie🙂 I would prefer that you watch it and make up your own mind about it, actually. And then, maybe, you can go back here and discuss with me whether or not you liked the movie.🙂

  2. Pingback: I Do Bidoo Bidoo « Pinoy Rebyu

  3. Pingback: Movie: Kaleidoscope World | taking a break

Leave a Reply

