Television: Doctor Who and the Asylum of the Daleks

"Doctor Who 7x01"

Kidnapped by his oldest foe, the Doctor is forced on an impossible mission – to a place even the Daleks are too terrified to enter… the Asylum. A planetary prison confining the most terrifying and insane of their kind, the Doctor and the Ponds must find an escape route. But with Amy and Rory’s relationship in meltdown, and an army of mad Daleks closing in, it is up to the Doctor to save their lives, as well as the Pond’s marriage.

Doctor Who is back! And, of course, I cannot not blog about it. Because it’s Doctor Who!

So, let’s get down to it, shall we?

I’m a big fan of the series opener. Huge fan. Maybe because I wasn’t completely happy with the previous series, and my nonchalance about the whole show kind of grew with repeat viewings of some of Series 6’s episodes. Bottom line is, my expectations for Series 7’s opener, with all its promises of grandeur and everything, was very low.

But it’s Doctor Who. A show I just started loving… What? Two years ago? I wasn’t about to give it up, regardless of how disappointed I was previously. Heck, I stuck with Smallville until its third season–and that was, well, worse. Series 6 had highlights, great highlights, and it has two of my most favorite episodes. (To those curious, that’s The Doctor’s Wife and The Girl Who Waited.) So it was a no-brainer that I would tune in for the Series 7 opener–

And I am glad.

Asylum of the Daleks is massive fun. With a great opening surprise for Doctor Who fans who have been following the new developments on the show, after the announcement that the Ponds are leaving the show. Which I will not spoil. Because, I’m going off-tangent here, I love how everyone who have seen the episode had refused to spoil said surprise–and it completely blew me away watching it. And that’s probably already saying too much about it, so I’m going back on topic.

Let’s see, where was I?

Yeah, massive fun. Explosive. Literally and figuratively. And for the first time since Forest of the Dead, I was properly scared for the Doctor’s life. Hang on, that can’t be right… That’s a Series 4 episode. With a different Doctor even. Same writer, sure, but… Wait, I’m gonna go and check again–

Okay, so I loved a lot of Series 5 episodes, and a couple of Series 6 episodes–but all the stories that actually did its job scaring me all came from the Russel T. Davies era. Oddly enough, the episodes that did do its job scaring me were all written by current show runner, Steven Moffatt.

And I’ve realized I haven’t done much talking about the episode this post was supposed to be about. And this is already quite long. So let me just sum it up in one sentence:

Asylum of the Daleks will knock your socks off–and it seems to be setting up a very action-packed Series 7.

5 thoughts on “Television: Doctor Who and the Asylum of the Daleks

    • Hi, Alice! (I’m assuming your name is Alice, because of the username. But feel free to correct me. You might be a Nina for all I know. :D)

      Amy also mentioned that they must have done something to her in Demon’s Run to prevent her from having any more babies after Melody. 🙂

  1. Pingback: Television: Doctor Who and the Snowmen | taking a break

  2. Pingback: Television: Doctor Who and the Bells of St. John | taking a break

Leave a Reply

