Book: An Abundance of Katherines

"An Abundance of Katherines"

When it comes to relationships, Colin Singleton’s type is girls named Katherine. And when it comes to girls named Katherine, Colin is always getting dumped. Nineteen times, to be exact. On a road trip miles from home, this anagram-happy, washed-up child prodigy has ten thousand dollars in his pocket, a bloodthirsty feral hog on his trail, and an over-weight, Judge Judy-loving best friend riding shotgun–but no Katherines. Colin is on a mission to prove The Theorem of Underlying Katherine Predictability, which he hopes will predict the future of any relationship, avenge Dumpees everywhere, and may finally win him the girl.

Ever since I read Paper Towns, I’ve been on a mission to find the next best John Green novel. I was a little disappointed with Looking for Alaska, so I approached An Abundance of Katherines with caution. A lot of caution. And I must say, it’s not as bad as Looking for Alaska was for me–but it still isn’t the next best John Green novel I’ve been looking for.

From the three John Green novels I’ve read, I’ve already noticed a pattern. Your male lead’s a geek with a weird characteristic and he’s antisocial. Or, at the least, he hasn’t a lot of friends. The best friend is almost always overweight, and is the funny guy–but he’ll show some heart and insight later on. And the leading ladies? They’re beautiful girls who should be popular, and are popular, but they’re not content with what they have. They’re Belles, in a way. And by Belles, I mean Disney’s version of the female lead in Beauty and the Beast.

Now, most of you know how I feel about formula. Not a fan. And I know the books are different enough to warrant being published as different books, but it’s really hard for me to enjoy something when I know what’s going to happen next.

Okay, maybe not all the time. But most of the time, that’s how I feel.

And after An Abundance of Katherines, I think I lost hope that I’ll ever find the next best John Green novel. Except, I already bought another John Green novel before I read An Abundance of Katherines. And while I’m not a fan of formulaic stories, I can’t really discount the fact that John Green writes very well. And so now I turn to Will Grayson, Will Grayson for Green salvation.

As you can see, this is barely a reaction post. But some people have already shared their opinions of the book online, why don’t we check those out?
The Garden of Books
Pretty Books
Books Devoured

One thought on “Book: An Abundance of Katherines

  1. Pingback: Book: The Fault In Our Stars | taking a break

Leave a Reply

