Book: Artemis Fowl, The Last Guardian

"The Last Guardian"

Artemis Fowl’s archenemy Opal Koboi has masterminded a way to simultaneously secure her release from prison and bring the human and fairy worlds to their knees. And, unless Artemis can stop her, the evil pixie’s next move will destroy all human life on earth.

Ground zero is the Fowl Estate, where Opal has reanimated fairy warriors who were buried there thousands of years ago. Their spirits have possessed any vessels they can find–corpses, Artemis’s little brothers, assorted wildlife–and they are bound to obey Opal’s every command. Defeating the motley troops and their diabolical leader will require all of Artemis’s cleverness–as well as Butler’s bravery, Holly’s skill, and Foaly’s gadgetry. But if their best efforts aren’t enough, Armageddon will surely follow.

It’s the last Artemis Fowl book, and I have to say I’m really glad this series is over.

I remember there was a time when I loved the Artemis Fowl books. The first three, I think. And then as the series went on, I started to lose interest. But I kept reading, hoping that somehow the magic would return. And it did, at one point. Sad to say, the magic is definitely not present in the last book in the series.

To be totally honest with you, I felt like I was reading fan fiction. And I mean no offense to writers of fan fiction, as there are a lot of awesome fan fiction that are sometimes better than the original material. And I’m sure there are hundreds that are better than The Last Guardian.

Why don’t I like the book? Well, it’s not exciting. By this time in the series, it’s already been ingrained in our brains that Artemis Fowl will survive. He will live. And not just because he’s the title role, but because he’s so brilliant that dying just isn’t a threat to him. With that in mind, most of the life-or-death situations in the book were for nothing. Heck, the only character I was even acutely worried for was Juliet, the sister of Artemis’s bodyguard. But we don’t even find out what happens to her after her sort-of big scene near the end.

There’s nothing original in the book either. Take any of the other Artemis Fowl novels after the second book, except maybe The Lost Colony, and it’s just a matter of changing names and changing devices–everything reads the same.

And I really didn’t like how cop out the ending was. I might be writing something else entirely had the author not written an inane coda to the climactic battle in the end. Had the book ended on the battle, and the repercussion of what was done to end it, I think I would say the book is serviceable. Good, even. But that’s not the case. And so my verdict is this: The Last Guardian, was a complete waste of my time.

Am I too harsh on the book? Here’s a few other online reactions to the final Artemis Fowl book:
The Diary of a Bookworm
Bookwitch
Adventures with Words

2 thoughts on “Book: Artemis Fowl, The Last Guardian

    • It was…in the beginning. I actually like the concept of a criminal mastermind being the one to save the world time and time again. But then Artemis lost his teeth… Figuratively speaking, of course.

Leave a Reply

