Movie: The Cabin in the Woods

"The Cabin in the Woods"

Five friends go to a remote cabin in the woods. Bad things happen. If you think you know this story, think again.

The Cabin in the Woods is a horror film that doesn’t just scare you–it makes you think too. And while this isn’t the first movie to subvert the horror genre, this is definitely one of the few good ones. And I’m not just saying this because I’m a big fan of anything that involves Joss Whedon. Though, come to think of it, he has yet to do anything that I didn’t like.

I don’t actually know how to, or where to, start writing about this film. I know that I liked and enjoyed it. And yet, there’s something about the film that puts me off. Is it because of the choppy editing MTRCB imposed? Though, to tell you the truth, I’m not really sure if it was the MTRCB who made those very jarring cuts or if it was the distributor who chose to do so to keep the film Rated PG-13.

There were two or three of these jarring cuts that, while it doesn’t detract from the story telling, it’s certainly distracting.

Now, I’ve read a lot of reviews that sing high praises for the film. I don’t think I can do the same. I mean, it’s really good. But when all I can come up with to defend this statement is that the movie’s good because it is mind-blowingly twisty… Well, there’s a bit of a problem there.

The dialogue has the Whedon trademark of being snappy and snarky, but while it fit awesomely with The Avengers, I thought the laughs took away the fear of the viewers. I mean, people were screaming at the beginning of the film! And yet when the horrors escalated (alongside the witty one-liners), the screams receded. People just weren’t scared anymore.

I liked the movie, I did. And I would recommend it to anyone without a moment’s hesitation. But, I don’t know, there’s something abou the movie that puts me off for some reason. Something that is preventing me from embracing the whole thing with careless abandon. Heck, typing this reaction post, I just realized that this is the first Whedon project that I’m not thinking about watching again.

So take from this confused post what you will. The Cabin in the Woods is awesome, but don’t come in with high expectations.

2 thoughts on “Movie: The Cabin in the Woods

  1. I think it’s MTRCB’s fault the editing is choppy. The film is really rated R in America and MTRCB trimmed the content down to fit the R-13 category just like what they did to Scream 4 last year. I am really pissed with what they are doing here. I think they should leave the content be and just rate and classify films like they’re supposed to do. It’s ruining the quality of films and people may think the film editors sucked because of the abrupt and sudden cuts. Sorry for ranting but I’m really starting to hate what MTRCB is doing with the films’ content.

Leave a Reply

