Television: New in Town

"John Mulaney is New in Town"Sure, technically it’s a DVD. But the material was made for television, and I don’t actually have a category for DVDs. So I’ll stick with television. That said, bear with me while I repost what it says at the back of the DVD:

Congratulations to you, the lucky woner of this DVD! Inside you will find the thoughts and feelings of stand-up comedian John Mulaney, a pleasant, nearly 30-year-old man who enjoys making fun of himself and others. In New in Town, Mulaney tackles such red-hot topics as quicksand, Motown singers, and an elderly man he once met in a bathroom. Through his stories, you will watch Mulaney age from a nervous, dishonest child to a still-nervous, dishonest adult. It’s an hour. And John Mulaney hopes you enjoy it.

This was an impulse buy. How much of an impulse buy buying something off the internet can be, I’m not sure. But this is a purchase I definitely did not think about. Along with half a dozen other purchases I made, which I’m sure will bite me in the ass once my credit card bill arrives. But, then again, it’s the uncontrollable shopping that leads me to writing about books and tv shows and movies, so I guess it’s still on topic…

Anyway, let’s get on with New in Town.

Let’s start with the obvious: it’s a stand-up act. Something that’s not really common here in the Philippines. The country’s brand of comedy usually leans towards slapstick–which can be funny at times, but usually it just rubs me as mean-spirited. I’m not a fan of slapstick, for sure. So catching a clip of New in Town on YouTube, I was hooked. Well, to be honest, anything on YouTube has an ability to draw my attention. Which is why it’s not advisable for me to even visit that site when I have deadlines. But we’re going off-topic again.

I watched New in Town sometime last month, a couple of days after getting my hands on the DVD. I had been putting off watching the show for when I had more time on my hands, but at the time, I just wanted to take a break from the mountain of deadlines I had to sort through. The hour I spent watching the DVD was well-spent, I think. I came off it refreshed and with fresh patience I just about completely lost prior to popping in the DVD.

Yes, I enjoyed watching the show. It was funny, it was fresh–it was something I don’t get exposed to a lot. (Unless I have lots of free time and an internet connection.) It’s definitely something I’m going to watch over and over, and something I’ll be sharing with friends.

Leave a Reply

