Book: Buffy the Vampire Slayer, Freefall Part 2

"Freefall" written by Andrew ChamblissWith the destruction of the seed, the fight against Twilight was brought to an end, and magic’s connection to our earth was severed. No more Slayers will be chosen. No more Slayer army. No more gang: Buffy’s a waitress in San francisco; Dawn and Xander are attempting normal domesticity; Willow is struggling with the loss of her powers. It’s a new(ish) world, but there are still demons and vampires to slay–even as tehir popularity with the masses continues to grow–and Buffy is on point to do what she has always done…

She is the Slayer.

Dead people are turning up at San Francisco and Buffy Summers is the number one suspect. And it sure doesn’t help when our heroine escapes detainment after the police catches her dusting a vampire.

I’ve been thinking if I should do a monthly thing with Buffy, the Vampire Slayer. I’ve done two previous reaction posts, if I remember correctly. I was wondering if I should make it a monthly thing with the start of Season 9, but I worried that the series’s run would be too much like Season 8–which wasn’t very self-sustained/independent. But with the release of Season 9’s second issue, I think I can put my fear to rest.

The first issue showed us the current status quo of the gang. We know where the core members are, and where Riley, Andrew and Spike stand with the group. It was pretty much self-contained, breaking only at the end with two plot openings–one of which immediately gets answered in the first few pages of the second issue. The other plot thread is left to dangle though, as we are introduced to what (I think) would push the story forward for the next few issues.

Someone is killing vampires–and leaving an actual body trail. Buffy is surprised. And so am I, actually. Vampires go poof. And we actually see one do so after Buffy slays it. But more and more vampires are reverting to their human form–dropping the “un” in their undead status. And the issue takes us on a short journey of Buffy’s wonder and confusion at this new development–two feelings that we, the readers, are wont to feel too–leading to the eventual reveal of how the vampires are being de-vamped.

It’s a great twist. It harkens back to the old days of Buffy, back in the WB era. And just like then, the issue ends. Sure, back in the day, this would only take us to a short commercial break. Nowadays though, we sit and wait a whole month to find out what happens in the next gap.

One thing’s the same though: we’re definitely going to want to find out what happens next.

3 thoughts on “Book: Buffy the Vampire Slayer, Freefall Part 2

  1. WOW WOW I READ SEASON 8 AND IM LOOKING FORWARD TO THE NEXT ISSUE!!!!!!
    I HAVE BEEN A BUFFY FAN SINCE I WAS A TEENAGER AND I HAVE ALL THE SEASONS,SO I CAN’T WAIT:)

  2. Pingback: Book: Buffy the Vampire Slayer, Freefall Part Three | taking a break

Leave a Reply

