Book: Eat Slay Love

"Eat Slay Love" by Jesse PetersenSarah and David have survived the Zombie Apocalypse. They stood side by side and fought the undead, mad scientists, and even bionic monsters… until the unthinkable happened. A zombie bite. But not even that could stop them.

Now, with a possible cure in hand, they’re headed east, looking for a safe zone behind the rumored “Wall.” They’re feeling pretty optimistic.

That is until Dave stops sleeping–and starts lifting huge objects.

I don’t actually know why I bought this book. I remember deciding, after Flip This Zombie, that I wouldn’t pick up the next one anymore. But I did. And I have to say, i don’t dislike it as much as I did the first two. Maybe because this one is more structured–and we actually get a purpose, and not just a romp through the zombie apocalypse.

Okay, let’s do a bit of recap. In Married with Zombies, the world went to hell. Or rather, hell went to the world. Zombies started rising. And it had to happen during one of Sarah and David’s therapy sessions. Things happened, zombies were killed. In the end, Sarah and David figured that they do still love each other, and they can make their relationship work–even in a world infested with zombies. Flip This Zombie saw Sarah and David having a sort-of business as zombie exterminators. And there were rumors of bionic zombies. Yes, zombies that have superhuman strength–and the capacity to think. And that’s pretty much what the second book was about. There was a kid and a mad scientist too, but they don’t add much to the story until near the end.

Eat Slay Love now puts our protagonists in a predicament we can root for: they have what might be a cure to the zombie virus–and they are traveling to take this cure to the rumored Wall, a border built by the US government to safeguard the part of civilization that hasn’t been touched by the zombie plague yet.

Truth be told, I’m a little confused as to how a zombie infestation can happen in one part of the United States (and even Mexico) but not in the eastern part. I take it the phenomenon isn’t worldwide? If you can accept that the zombie problem is contained with the western part of the United States (and Mexico) though, then… good for you.

That confusion aside though, I was highly entertained by this book. It didn’t deal too much with the psychosis of the main characters as couples, as it did with the people they have become after the apocalypse. Their marital problems now are more zombie-related and not just chic-lit fodder placed haphazardly in the zombie world. It also helped that the second book introduced the problem of David being bitten by a zombie–but not turning. It was a secret that Sarah had to work at keeping–and it presents a new threat to our heroes that actually follows them as they move from one place to the next.

We also get to meet new survivors that doesn’t seem forced into being included. The supporting characters in Eat Slay Love are more fleshed out.

But most importantly, you can actually feel sympathetic to Sarah and David now. Which, if I remember correctly, was my main gripe with the first two books. I wasn’t rooting for Sarah to survive then. I am now. And I will be looking forward to Sarah and David’s next adventure–which I hope will be as well-structured as this one was.

Read what others have to say about Eat Slay Love! Check out the following reviews:
My Bookish Ways
The Book Smugglers
Scooper Speaks

2 thoughts on “Book: Eat Slay Love

  1. You still read up to the third book! Haha. I haven’t got the time to get myself copies of the next books, especially since I gave away my copy of the first. But I think the publisher dropped the series already so unless the author self-publishes, we won’t know what happened to Sarah and David.

    Come to think of it, I haven’t really read much zombie books since Deadline. Will have to remedy that soon.

    • haha, and I still can’t remember why I even picked it up. But, as I said, this one is better than the first two. =)

      and really? they dropped the series? oh well. it’s not like it’s such a tragedy. haha. i can live without this…

      If you want to borrow my books, just tell me–a day before one of the FBB meet-ups =)

Leave a Reply

