Television: Doctor Who and The Girl Who Waited

"The Girl Who Waited" written by Tom McRaeAmy is trapped in a quarantine facility for victims of an alien plague – a plague that will kill the Doctor in a day. The Doctor can use the TARDIS to smash through time and break in, but then Rory is on his own. He must find Amy and bring her back to the TARDIS before the alien doctors can administer their medicine. Rory is about to encounter a very different side to his wife. Can he rescue Amy before she is killed by kindness?

I’m a little bit late with my post on this episode. It took me more than half a day to watch it. Not the episode’s fault though–the episode was brilliant. It just so happened that it had to air on my busiest weekend ever so far.

Coming from the less than thrilling Night Terrors, I was afraid that this week’s episode would also fail to deliver. After all, so many good things were said about the previous episode, and I was completely let down. And this week’s episode also garnered it’s own raves from people: about Karen Gillan’s acting, Arthur Darvill’s, and the story itself. Unlike last week though, this episode delivered. Completely.

Karen Gillan plays Amy well. I don’t know if any other actress could pull off the vulnerability amidst the spunk that she somehow manages to marry in every episode of Doctor Who. But Karen Gillan playing the older version of Amy? She was exceptional. She was on fire. Watching this episode of Doctor Who, Karen revealed herself to be an actress of so much depth. The layers of emotions she’s padded on to the older version of Amy was so real–you can actually believe that she’s grown 36 years older in the span of that episode.

And Arthur Darvill didn’t let himself get left behind. The way he plays Rory’s emotional turmoil is so heart-wrenching, you actually feel the dilemma that the character is facing. This has got to be Arthur’s best work yet in Doctor Who.

The story itself was simple enough. And I think that that’s the reason why it was so powerful for me. Because the focus of the story wasn’t a monster or some apocalyptic problem. The episode focused on the characters–specifically, the relationship between Amy and Rory–and to an extent, their relationship with the Doctor as well. Writer Tom Macrae delivered the most powerful episode of Doctor Who this season. So far, anyway. This is this season’s answer to last year’s Vincent and the Doctor.

And from the teaser they gave for next week’s episode, it looks as if it’s gonna be another must-see episode.

9 thoughts on “Television: Doctor Who and The Girl Who Waited

    • The question of “right” is essential to the whole series, I think. =) For all the interference that the Doctor has done, who is to say that he’s really doing the right thing? =)

      But I agree. If the show address the fact that the Doctor has gone too far (so many times now), it’s going to do wonders for the show’s narrative.

      Will read your blog/reaction post as soon as I’m not drowning with work. =)
      Thanks for dropping by!

    • They’ve stopped looking for the baby, I think. They’ve accepted their “raising” of Mels as their way of raising their child.

      It’s a major issue for many Whovians. But I understand why Amy and Rory would want to stop searching. They know River ends up a wonderful woman… and she will never be that without going through the things she went through. Without much of their guidance.

      Thanks for dropping by, Elsie! =) How’s the baking?

      • I haven’t accepted it! haha…. One more episode to go!😀

        I’ve subscribed to your blog through Google Reader! I like your reviews! Sorry if I just put in a comment now.😛

        Still baking! I’ve set up a Facebook page too on a rare day of energetic determination (www.facebook.com/the.sweet.m) then I realized that I probably can’t push it yet because I still lack skills and time haha….

      • One more episode to go! I’m excited–and a little bit afraid. =)

        And thank you for like the “reviews!” They’re not much, but hey–I like writing them too! Haha.

        Also, I liked your page! And I’m sure the skills will come with time. Now as for finding time…Well, when you find out how to make more of it, please tell me. I need more than 24 hours in my days. Haha =)

  1. Pingback: Television: Doctor Who and the God Complex | taking a break

  2. Pingback: Television: Doctor Who and the Asylum of the Daleks | taking a break

Leave a Reply

