Movie: Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows, Part Two

Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows, Part TwoIn the epic finale, the battle between the good and evil forces of the wizarding world escalates into an all-out war. The stakes have never been higher and no one is safe. But it is Harry Potter who may be called upon to make the ultimate sacrifice as he draws closer to the climactic showdown with Lord Voldemort. It all ends here.

Well, that synopsis was short.

Do I really need to make an introduction for Harry Potter? I know there are a lot of people who still haven’t read the books, but with the success of the movies, and the toy line, and all the other merchandises in the market–do I really need to tell you who Harry Potter is? Besides, you wouldn’t even be reading this if you’re not familiar with Harry Potter. If you were just curious, you might have already stumbled upon many other websites and blogs before you’ve gotten here. So no, I’m not going to introduce Harry Potter to you. If I were, I would be writing about the first book–not the final movie.

Okay, so now let’s talk about the movie.

I’ve been anticipating the arrival of the second half of the Deathly Hallows since a few days after I’ve seen the first part. I don’t remember if I was entirely happy with what they had done–but I can read what I wrote last year again later–but of this I’m sure: I was disappointed with Deathly Hallows, Part Two.

After watching the first half, I recall wondering how they were going to stretch the remainder of the Deathly Hallows book for the final movie. They didn’t. Apparently, this is one of the shortest Harry Potter movies there is. And the movie didn’t drag, even if it didn’t have a lot of material to work with. On the contrary, some parts felt a little rushed.

What really disappointed me was the treatment of the battle at Hogwarts. I loved how J K Rowling wrote the battles–the way she gave a few characters their chance to shine, as the story started to close. And I felt cheated when I didn’t see it on screen. There were deaths that were only mentioned as a matter of fact, but there were deaths that had emotional impact because you saw it happen–well, you were supposed to see it happen, except you won’t. Because it was never shown.

The screenwriter and the director decided to go a different way for the movie, and I respect their vision. Completely. But I am not happy with where they took the franchise in the end. As the credits rolled, the only thought in my head was: “I hope someone tries to reboot the Harry Potter franchise soon–and I hope it’ll be better than this.”

And, honestly, this makes me sad. Because Daniel Radcliffe, Emma Watson and Rupert Grint are the perfect Harry Potter, Hermione Granger and Ron Weasley. There will never be another Professor Minerva McGonagall more perfect than Dame Maggie Smith. Heck, who am I kidding? The movie had the perfect cast! Well, I’m still a bit iffy with Michael Gambon’s Angry!Dumbledore, but I learned to like him too.

And don’t get me started on the sets, the costumes, the wonderful effects (I’ve repressed the memory of Fawkes)…

Bottom line is this–I really disliked the writing and direction for the final movie. Which is a bit weird, as I liked how the actors were directed. But I have a problem with how the scenes were treated. Does that make sense?

I wonder how the Harry Potter movies would’ve turned out had Alfonso Cuaron directed all eight movies? His Prisoner of Azkaban remains as my favorite movie of the series, and the only one I had no complaints about.

I plan to see the movie again this weekend. I wonder if my thoughts would change after a second viewing.

Have you seen the movie? Share your thoughts! I’m dying to have someone to talk it over with.

2 thoughts on “Movie: Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows, Part Two

  1. Hi! I wasn’t so keen with deliberate aging of the some of the cast in order to portray the older selves of their characters. It looked a bit awkward for me. I also thought they could have done better with the flashback scenes of Young Snape, Lily, James and his gang. But, I guess only because that’s one of my favorite parts in the book🙂 But I did love a lot of parts of the movie like the Gringotts Scene (Helena did a great job acting like she was Hermione.), The part where they were running away from the cursed fire in the room of req…and a whole bunch more. Prisoner of Azkaban movie adaptation also still remains to be my favorite but all in all, I still walked out of the cinema satisfied.😛

    • Hello, Tin!

      I liked how they aged the actors, actually. I totally see the awkwardness you’re referring to, but I was happy with how they went about it. Then again, I still remember the leaked photos of the first epilogue they shot–maybe that colored my judgment and made me happy we’re getting middle-aged characters instead of haggard old wizards and witches like they turned out in the first epilogue shoot.

      And I never went to mentioning the flashback scenes in my reaction, so I want to thank you for bringing that up. I’m actually fine with them not giving much screen time for James and the other Marauders. But I did feel the flashbacks lacked the important connection between Snape and Lily. I mean, you wouldn’t even know it was a Young Snape and a Young Lily if you haven’t read the books!

      I also agree with regards to Helena’s acting. I loved how she got Emma’s little nuisances down pat. So did Daniel Radcliffe, actually, in the first part of the movie. But Daniel’s been with Emma since this all started around a decade ago. Helena is really an amazing actress.

      I wish I could say I also walked out of the cinema satisfied, but I already mentioned that I was disappointed, in my reaction post. I haven’t changed my stance yet. Maybe I’m still bitter over the fact that they changed too much (in my opinion) in the battle sequences at Hogwarts…

Leave a Reply

