Taking a Break: First Anniversary

"Taking a Break Blog"Okay, so I was supposed to do this yesterday, but I was incapacitated because of work backlog and a mother-of-a migraine.

First on my agenda is to announce the winner of my gift certificate giveaway. I don’t have a screencap of the randomizer thing I did on Randomizer.Org but the result is: Aaron Vincent gets the PhP500 gift card from Fully Booked, and Isaw08 gets the PhP500 gift certificate from National Bookstore. Now, the question is: how do I send the prizes to you? Just send me an e-mail to let me know.

I thank all four of you who joined.

Second, I thought it would be nice to look back on the stats of the blog to see which posts garnered the most attention. So I did. And here’s my Top 10 posts–not including the “Home” and “About” pages, and the giveaways:

  1. Ang Mga Kaibigan ni Mama Susan (4,384 views)
  2. Pak! Pak! My Doctor Kwak! (2,298 views)
  3. Si Agimat at si Enteng Kabisote (1,454 views)
  4. Machete (402 views)
  5. The Best of True Philippine Ghost Stories (325 views)
  6. Afraid: The Best Philippine Ghost Stories (243 views)
  7. The Lost Hero (194 views)
  8. Trudis Liit (182 views)
  9. Naermyth (181 views)
  10. Shake, Rattle and Roll XII (139 views)

So out of my Top 10, I have three movie blog posts, two television blog posts, and five posts about books–four of which are Filipino books. Come to think of it, out of the Top 10, only The Lost Hero isn’t a Filipino-related blog post. I guess that says a lot about my readership. As does my stats, because only three of my blog posts actually exceeded 1,000 views.

Will these results change how I pick books to write about? Heck, no. I’ll continue to write about books I want to read. But this does give me a good feeling about the future of Filipino books, because there are people out there who are curious about them.

As for stats, as I said before, I didn’t start this blog for stats and I won’t change that perspective. I like having an outlet, an escape from my regular life, and this continues to be that for me. But as this blog is one year old now, I have come to learn many things about blogs that aren’t an online diary/journal. So do expect a few changes in the way I write.

8 thoughts on “Taking a Break: First Anniversary

  1. Congrats to the winners! And congrats on your blogiversary.🙂 It’s interesting that your top posts are Filipino-related. My Filipino posts don’t get as many hits as my posts about foreign books. I guess most of my followers aren’t Filipinos but I think it’s always good to promote local work. Maybe we’ll be able to reach more local readers with the MIBF event?😀

    • Maybe. I certainly hope so. =)

      As for my stats; I think it might also have something to do with a narrower readership base. You’re more established than I am, and you get more visitors per day than I do. =)

      Also, thanks! =)

  2. Congrats to the winners!

    Lol, my top page is also my review of Ang Mga Kaibigan ni Mama Susan. I think there are a lot of people searching for reviews for that! I even get hits from Wikipedia. I still get comments on that, too!

    • Hahaha, it seems like most everyone is intrigued about the book.
      I used to get comments all the time, until I stopped replying. Of course, when someone asks a question that hasn’t been answered yet, I will answer again. Until then though… =)

  3. Whoa, wait! Just saw this now o_o didn’t know I won! Anyway, this is awesome. Thank you and happy anniversary to your blog! What’s your email?

Leave a Reply

