Book: Cat’s Trail, Issue #3

"Cat's Trail"There’s no blurb to start this post with, so I’ll give a summary of what has happened prior to this issue.

Fans of Culture Crash comics probably remember the adventures of Airee Colette in Cat’s Trail. When creator Elmer Damaso decided to continue the story (years after the Culture Crash comics ceased to be), he thought it would be a good idea to restart the story as well. And for the most part, it stayed true to what had already happened in the Cat’s Trail of Culture Crash.

We meet Airee Colette mid-heist, and she gets chased through the desert by Sheriff Poppy. He thinks he finally caught her, but Airee proves to be more slippery than he thought. Our protagonist, the criminal, ends up in a city—and then we meet my favorite character: Butler. That’s pretty much it, for the first two issues.

Issue #3 takes the story for a spin though.

I don’t know if I can still recall the original story accurately, but some reason I feel as if a lot of changes has been made to the character of Butler. While Issue #2 showed him at his bumbling best, I thought he was a bit too suave for the most part of Issue #3.

While in the original storyline, we do find out that there’s more to Butler than he seems eventually, I don’t think it happened this early in the story. But that’s pretty much the only change done from the original.

I think. Again, I don’t think I’m recalling the original story accurately.

For some reason though, I found it easier to read Issue #3 than I did the first two issues of Cat’s Trail. Maybe it’s because I’ve finally gotten used to the new way of storytelling. Maybe.

What I do know though is that I wish we could move past the rewinds soon. While relieving the story is great and all, I still do my copies of Culture Crash. I can relieve it there. If this is really being done for the fans of the series, may it not be better if we could speed through the already-known stories and start on the new adventures?

Just a thought.

If you’re interested in the series, Cat’s Trail is available at Comic Odyssey in Robinson’s Galleria, Ortigas Center. Or you can contact Elmer Damaso or Maria Cornelia Damaso at the Cat’s Trail blog.

Leave a Reply

