event: book bloggers meet marianne villanueva

marianne villanueva shares an anecdote about a libretto she's working onyesterday, a few of the filipino book bloggers met miss marianne villanueva.

paolo of rocket kapre organized the get together for the author to meet with a few local readers, and a few local writers as well. and as always, i was late. so i don’t know how the get together began.

it was completely informal though, and it was fun talking with miss villanueva.

topics ranged from how relatives react to an author’s work, reading with a perception of who the author is, reviewing works written by strangers as opposed to works by colleagues or friends, and more.

miss villanueva also shared with us some tidbits on two of the projects she’s working on, one of which is a libretto for an opera. her first time writing one!

miss villanueva also listened, and commented, on a few issues we book bloggers brought up: like how some authors think the book bloggers tend to drive away readers because of their criticisms, or how there’s a shortage of local novels (not novellas) for filipinos to read, or if local readers would read foreign novels translated into filipino/tagalog.

taken at libreria, cubao expothe discussion was fast; i didn’t even realize a couple of hours had passed (since i arrived) until people started leaving for christmas parties.

soon, miss villanueva herself had to leave. but before she left, i took a group photo of those who remained until the end of the meet-up. and as you can see from the photo, we all grabbed a copy of miss villanueva’s latest release, THE LOST LANGUAGE, which she graciously signed for us.

much thanks to triccie and libreria for once again providing the venue for the filipino book bloggers’ meet-up, to paolo for organizing the get together, and of course to miss marianne villanueva herself for spending the afternoon with us.

libreria is located at cubao expo. for more information about the bookstore, check out its facebook page.

and to find out more on miss marianne villanueva, check out her blog at anthropologist.wordpress.com. and buy her book, THE LOST LANGUAGE, out in bookstores.

also, check out what chachic has to say about the event at chachic’s book nook.

12 thoughts on “event: book bloggers meet marianne villanueva

  1. You’re always the first one to come up with a post about meet ups! I’m so glad we got the chance to meet Marianne, she’s really nice and friendly and it’s always a pleasure to talk about books, reading and writing to those who are passionate about it.

    Haha and I arrived later than you did.

    • I actually thought someone would have already posted before I did. I checked the blogs of everyone who attended so I could link. 😀

      It was really fun talking with Miss Marianne; she’s quite the character. The kind of author you really do want to meet and have a chat with. She breaks the stereotype of the shy/moody writer. 🙂

      [And, lastly, you did! I was surprised. I thought you wouldn’t be able to come, hence why you weren’t there. Turns out, traffic was to blame.]

      • I haven’t even started on my post about the meet up! I’ll work on it tomorrow and post it as soon as I’m done (which will probably be on Tuesday). Maybe people are busy with holiday get things this weekend so they haven’t been able to write about this.

        I know, Marianne is really fun to talk to. 🙂 You feel like you can talk about anything with her.

        I feel really bad that I was late! But I’m glad I was still able to make it. Should’ve expected traffic to be bad, it’s always like this during Christmastime.

      • Haha. You’re probably right. People are just way too busy with holiday stuff. That or the endless Christmas parties.

        I wonder if Miss Gilda Olvidado will be just as talky as Miss Marianne, if I invite her to our next meet-up. That is, if it’s okay with you guys that I invite her.

        Last; don’t feel bad that you were late. I’ve been late to all the times we had a meet-up! Haha. I’d start feeling guilty for not feeling bad. 🙂 Though, I don’t think anyone of us expected traffic to be that bad–even during Christmastime. 🙂

      • we could, but we have to ask everyone first if they’d be interested in meeting miss gilda olvidado. 🙂

        also, i added a link to your blog post about the event. 😀

  2. Hayz, December is so busy. I can barely hold up my head just typing this. I may not be able to blog about the meetup, just make a mention if I can manage to blog anything at all this week. But I do intend to post the questions on MV’s blog I was not able to say during the get-together by author and bloggers. I will, I will… after another bout with dreamland.

      • Haha! 🙂 December has become quite the busy month, ‘no? I can’t remember it being as busy as this year, I don’t know why.

        [And thank you. 🙂 I love taking candid photos of people. :D]

  3. Pingback: Meet Up With Marianne Villanueva « Chachic's Book Nook

Leave a Reply

