event: mockingjay launch party

"the panelists for the mockingjay launch party"good day reader!

i’m back from attending the MOCKINGJAY launch party held at NATIONAL BOOKSTORE: BESTSELLERS at robinson’s galleria. and here i am now, reporting about it.

i arrived during the last part of the panel discussion, so i wasn’t able to hear what was talked about. what i did get to hear about was the last three questions: about the blurbs from stephen king and stephenie meyer, about violence in a young adult series, and about favorite characters.

with the first question, the panel discussed their thoughts on why scholastic chose to put an endorsement blurb from stephen king and stephenie meyer, two authors from very different writing backgrounds, and with very different kinds of readers. i agree with the general consensus that scholastic is covering all the bases, making the book attractive to the two types of readers: the more serious ones and the tweens.

i’m not saying the tweens who read stephenie meyer’s books are not serious readers. on the contrary, i think TWILIGHT readers show a good potential at becoming great readers. i mean, to be able to stand a series that basically has no plot? whatever book follows must be an amazing adventure. that and i have friends who liked the TWILIGHT series and are big fans of better books too.

the second question, which deals with the violence present in the HUNGER GAMES trilogy, has everyone in agreement that there’s no alarm about the violent nature of the book. on the contrary, the violence shown in the books are actually a good way of getting children nowadays to open up to their parents about their thoughts on violence. granted that there is an open line of communication between the reader and whoever they need to talk to about these things.

my answer for this question is actually connected to my answer for the last question–which is the favorite character one.

when i started reading the HUNGER GAMES trilogy, i connected with the character of peeta. he’s nothing special, but he gets thrust into the limelight and slowly discovers who he is and what he is capable of. but as the series progressed, i found myself getting drawn to one of the supporting characters: prim, katniss’s younger sister.

now, how is this connected to the second discussion?

katniss volunteered herself to become a tribute after the reaping put prim on the spotlight. prim was the one who was supposed to be part of the hunger games. instead, katniss volunteered in her place. in our time now, many parents would rather shield their children to the violence present in the world. and that’s exactly what katniss had done.

but as the story unfolds, we see that prim is not the naive little girl katniss would like her to be. prim has seen and is seeing what is happening in their world. and that’s exactly the same thing that’s going on in our world. children are exposed to violence no matter how parents try to cover their eyes from it. violence is present in the television, in the radio, in games. and let’s not start on the availability of everything in the internet.

by the time we come to the story’s conclusion in MOCKINGJAY, katniss realizes that she’s never had to shield prim’s eyes from the violence. and while she doesn’t regret what she had done, she does come to an understanding that prim is stronger than she thinks. and that prim can understand, and is not afraid to ask when she doesn’t, what is happening in their world. [and that’s not a spoiler, for those of you who are spoilerphobes.]

and that is why prim is my favorite character: because she is a reflection of our youth. the ones who, if we try to help them understand, can pave the way for a better future. as the famous song goes, “i believe that the children are our future. teach them well, and let them lead the way.”

"the tributes during the live-action role-playing activities"after the panel discussion, the launch party went on to the activities it had prepared for the afternoon. the main feature? live action role-playing of the hunger games. or a version of it.

24 players registered to be part of the game, 2 volunteers representing each of the 12 known districts in THE HUNGER GAMES. and the first round had the “tributes” racing across the room in piggyback and sending arrows flying towards the MOCKINGJAY wall at the back of the events area.

it was all good fun, and the game was designed to shave off pairs upon pairs of players until a winner is called.

i don’t know who won or what happened after the second round, which is a modified version of tag-you’re-it. but i have to say the people there certainly enjoyed the games. i’m not very big on audience participation though, and i was feeling a bit claustrophobic at the smallness of the activity area. so i left to browse around that time.

at the back of the activity area, stalls were set up for the sponsors:

there was cinna’s corner, in which attendees can have a temporary tattoo applied on whatever body part to signify their attendance in the launch party; there was haymitch’s bar where cookies and other pastries were served with blue sprite; an area where you can go online to find out which HUNGER GAMES character you are, and a photo “booth” where you can have your photo taken on with either a “team peeta” or a “teem gale” flag.

"mockingjay launch party extras"truth be told, i’m not a big fan of the “team this” and “team that” phenomena. while the ship wars have been present for as long as fandoms have existed, it’s not until TWILIGHT that these “team” things have become so infuriatingly common.

though it was fun to watch [though, i did cringe at some parts] as fans of the book debated over the qualities of peeta and gale as partners for katniss. these fans are really passionate about the man they want katniss to end up with! they argued about their quality as a partner, the parts they played in katniss’s impressionable years, and whether or not they were the person who made katniss a better woman.

it did get a little heated though, so it was a relief when the moderators cut the debate off. i wouldn’t have been surprised if hair-pulling was about to ensue, even if the debate started off in good fun. it was that heated.

was the event a success? i wouldn’t know. this is only the second commercial book launch i attended, and it’s the first to actually have activities that doesn’t involve the author at all. so i’ve got nothing to judge this event by. that said, the attendees seemed to have a great time participating, and generally bonding with each other, that i would say it was a success in that aspect.

and in the end, isn’t that what matters? events are supposed to bring people from all walks of life together, to enjoy an afternoon celebrating the one thing (or many things) they do have in common.

though, i do hope to see more people in the next event i attend.

14 thoughts on “event: mockingjay launch party

  1. You were there?! I didn’t see you! Or I didn’t recognize you. You should’ve approached me and I could’ve introduced you to all the other Filipino book bloggers who were there. We had dinner and coffee after the event, with lots of book discussions, of course. I left Galleria around 9pm already.

    • I was there for a little while; I stayed by the side for the panel–near the camera people, obviously. =) And during the LARP, I was at the back, by the Panem map.

      I was with my family, or rather, my family was with me earlier. So I wouldn’t have been able to join the dinner and the coffee. But I do regret not being able to meet you and the rest of the book blogging community. =)

      • LOL I don’t think I recognized you! Did you see me? Next time if you recognize me, just approach me. I was approaching random people and introducing myself because I knew them from online interactions.

      • I’m not sure if it were you, but I think I heard someone mention the name Chachic while I was at the back. I’m not much of a people person though, when I’m not part of the events team. =)

      • Yes, that’s me! I doubt that there’s any other Chachic there. During the panel discussion, I was sitting on the floor listening to the talk. But the rest of the time, I was at the back just chatting with random people or lurking about.

      • for the parts of the talk that I did catch, I was in the aisle between the books about movies/celebrities, and the books about pets. I turned away when they gave the floor to one of the attendees to talk about why Cinna was his favorite character–and well, let’s leave at that.

        I went back to the front for the Team Peeta versus Teem Gale debate, then started browsing at the back. Didn’t get to taste the cookies though. =(

      • Oh you were in between the bookshelves. LOL that’s Aaron from our Goodreads group! I was sitting with the Goodreads people on the floor. I was thinking of going up to speak but Aaron beat me to it.

        No worries, didn’t get to taste the bread either (I heard it wasn’t anything special :P) Too bad we didn’t even get to say hi!

      • haha, well, I was trying to find a good place to take photos from. I like having photos of my own in my blogs. makes it more personal, I think.😉

        and I was thinking of speaking up too. I wanted to give my answer, especially after the discussion on violence. but I’m really not good at public-speaking. hence the me not being a people-person. I thought one of the panelists would do a good job of saying why Prim was his favorite character, but he kind of copped out.

        as for not being able to say hi, there’s always a next time.😉

  2. Like everyone else who commented: OH YOU WERE THERE?😀 I was there, too! I was eliminated immediately during the LARP, haha. Fail. But then we started mingling at the back.😀

  3. Pingback: Mockingjay Launch Party « Chachic's Book Nook

  4. Pingback: event: filipino book bloggers, the first meeting « taking a break

Leave a Reply

