Book: A Study in Scarlet

"A Study in Scarlet"

A Study in Scarlet is a potent mix of murder, suspense, cryptic clues, red herrings and revenge. It introduces us to the world-famous characters of Sherlock Holmes, Dr Watson and Inspector Lestrade as they join forces for the first time to track a mysterious killer that stalks London’s streets.

I finally got around to reading this.

I’ve always been intrigued with how Sherlock Holmes and John Watson met. For real. We’ve seen many iterations now of how this happened though, that it feels weird reading the original source for the first time.

I must say, it was a little underwhelming. John Watson is impressed by Sherlock way too quickly, and he is far too trusting for a soldier come home from war. With regards to the first meeting, I must say that I preferred Steven Moffat’s take on it.

That said, I did like the novel. The case was interesting even when I already knew where it was going, and who the murderer was. The digression into the murderer’s past was jarring at first; but it was just as engaging as the case, when the initial shock of switching point of view and timeline wore off.

And there are not buts.

Well, there’s one, but I got that out of the way already–with my less-than-thrilled reception at Sherlock’s and Watson’s actual first meeting.

A Study in Scarlet is a definite must read for any Sherlock fans–and a great first novel for those who want to start reading the detective stories. That said though, don’t expect for all of them to be like this.

I think this is the only Sherlock Holmes novel I’ve read so far though, that has a flashback just to explore the murderer’s motive. It’s very much an add-on and not important to the story. But, as I said, it’s just as engaging as the actual case, so I’m not complaining.

All I can say is, on to the next mystery!

One thought on “Book: A Study in Scarlet

Leave a Reply

