Book: The Superior Spider-Man, Issue #3

"Superior Spider-Man 003"

Otto Octavius is a man who cheated death, but at a price. When he exchanged bodies with Peter Parker, he gained the amazing skills of Spider-Man–and all of Peter’s memories. Otto finally understands Peter’s mission of great responsibility.

But a tiny piece of Peter Parker is still there in the Superior Spider-Man’s brain, watching Otto live out his life and trying to keep the reformed villain in check.

Crime scene investigator (and Peter’s ex-girlfriend) Carlie Cooper is the only one who even suspects the truth.

But with the Vulture building a new flock, Peter Parker’s past isn’t the only one that Otto Octavius will have to face.

Things are moving faster than expected.

Number one, just when I was done with this Otto as Spider-Man, it reels me back in with the tease of character development. Peter going into Otto’s psyche, and Otto leveling up Peter’s crime-fighting makes up for great drama, and I must say I am looking forward to more of that.

Number two, we finally get a character who has an inkling that all is not right with this new Peter Parker. Well, we got her last issue, but it wasn’t until this issue that she really starts suspecting. And if I read the end frame right, will also know the truth by next issue.

I must say, even though I really did not like the first issue and wrote that I want this story arc to end soon, I’m having second thoughts now. Carlie’s involvement and suspicion is moving the plot faster along, which I like, but it might also end this interesting new chapter in Peter Parker’s life just as quickly. And I’m not sure if I would still like that.

I mean, I know Peter’s bound to return to his body sooner or later, but as we’re exploring this new dynamic, maybe it can be later rather than sooner?

Though, I do like that there’s a ticking time bomb in the person of Carlie, that she can expose the truth any time. And then, a new dynamic is bound to arise: how will Otto prove that he has changed? And just how will Peter get his body back? What will happen to Otto then?

Please let there be no more clones.

Now, when’s the fourth issue coming out?

Leave a Reply

