Book: Zombies versus Unicorns

"Zombies versus Unicorns"

Which is better, the zombie or the unicorn?

Some of today’s finest writers have chosen their side, creating dazzling stories about both creatures. Are you Team Zombie or Team Unicorn?

This took me forever to finish. Forever and a day. And I am totally going for the dramatics here, but the fact remains that–I am neither Team Zombie nor Team Unicorn, if these are the stories to argue for their cases.

Now, don’t get me wrong. Some of them have really interesting premises, some of them have a good handle at story telling. In the case of Carrie Ryan’s Bougainvilla, it’s a mix of both. But none of the stories really stand out. I mean, save for Bougainvilla, but after that story, I couldn’t find another one that interested me enough to have me keep reading.

I especially loathed the unicorn stories. Save for Meg Cabot’s Princess Prettypants which was a very fast read, but offered nothing in terms of brilliance; and Kathleen Duey’s The Third Virgin which was pretty bleak, the rest felt…ordinary, uninteresting, and a chore to read. I fell asleep a lot of times while reading the unicorn stories, save for the two I mentioned.

Not that I’m saying the zombie stories are any better. Well, they are–but only a little. I already singled out Bougainvilla as the best of the lot, but Scott Westerfield’s Inoculata was interesting too. Cassandra Clare’s Cold Hands deserve credit for being different, but I thought the story itself was extremely lacking. Libba Bray’s Prom Night stands out as the worst of the bunch.

I don’t believe in regrets–but I sure wish I trusted my first instinct when it came to this anthology. I put off buying (and reading this) for a year. I should’ve stuck with that decision. This book is definitely not for me.

As I always say though, I am but one voice and people should make up their own minds. I’ve thrown my two cents into the bin, let’s see what other people have said:
My Books. My Life.
The Spotted Mushroom
This Ain’t Livin’

Leave a Reply

