Book: Be More Chill

"Be More Chill"

Jeremy Heere is your average high-school dork. Day after day, he stares at beautiful Christine, the girl he can never have, and dryly notes the small humiliations that comes his way… Until the day he is told about the ‘SQUIP.’ A pill-sized supercomputer that you swallow, the SQUIP is guaranteed to bring you whatever you most desire in life. By instructing him on everything from what to wear to how to talk and walk, the SQUIP transforms Jeremy from complete geek into the coolest guy in class. Soon he is friends with his former tormentors and has the attention of the hottest girls in school.

But Jeremy discovers that there is a dark side to handing over control of your life — and it can have disastrous consequences.

I was initially hesitant to read this novel because I thought it’s one of those books where you’d need time to take it in while reading. You know the type? The books that have really great stories, but makes you plod through its narrative?

Well, Be More Chill doesn’t make you plod as it’s a very easy read. Which I’m still surprised with.

Now, I really like the idea behind the book. For the most part, I liked the story too. I just… I really don’t like the resolution. Instead of feeling smart, unique, and a little out of the box–it mostly felt lazy. And the very abrupt ending detracted from my experience of reading–a lot–as I came to the book’s close. With just a few pages left and a very big mess to unravel, I already knew we were getting a deus ex machina sort of wrap-up.

I hoped I was wrong as the pages counted down to the end. But I wasn’t wrong. And I really, really, really didn’t like the ending. And, as I’m starting to discover, I’m an endings person. I don’t really care if it’s happy or tragic, so long as the ending fits. And that it exists.

Had there been a different ending–scratch that; had there been an actual ending, I might be harping a different tune. But as it is, while I was ready to give the book a glowing recommendation, I now go to a cautious one.

Be More Chill has a great premise, and it has all sorts of grand ideas, but it fails at giving resolution. In doing so, I feel as if the author’s thought and message became incomplete. And I advise anyone who wants to pick up this book to lower their expectations.

Of course, other people might be saying something entirely different. So why don’t we check out said other people?
In the Middle (of a Good Book)
Panther Paw
Birds of a Writer
YouTube Review: RoomFullofGeeks

One thought on “Book: Be More Chill

  1. Pingback: Book: The Other Normals | taking a break

Leave a Reply

