Book: The Unfinished Angel

"The Unfinished Angel"

In a tiny village high in the Swiss Alps, life for one angel has been the same, well, for as long as she (or he?) can remember. Until Zola arrives, a determined American girl who wears three skits all at once. For neighbors who have been longtime enemies, children who have been lost, and villagers who have been sleepily living their lives: hold on. Zola and the angel are about to collide. Figs start flying, dogs start arfing, and the whole village begins to WAKE UP. Zola is a girl with a mission. And our angel has been without one–till now.

I don’t really know how to start this–

The Unfinished Angel is definitely not what I expected it to be. No, not in a bad way. It’s actually a fun, light read. Except, I don’t feel like I took away anything from it.

Sure, I enjoyed reading the book. And that should be enough, right? But you know how some times, you’re still looking for more? This book feels like it’s the icing on top of a cake–except, there is no cake. So it’s just a whole lot of good feelings. But too much good feelings doesn’t mean it’s good. It’s not that it’s bad, but– How do I put this to words?

I liked The Unfinished Angel. I like how simple it is. I like how there’s a problem, and there’s a solution, and everyone sorts of gets a happily ever after. I could do without the confusing grammar that the book utilizes, but it doesn’t really take away anything from the book.

At the end of the day, I guess the book just didn’t stand out for me. It’s not special.

But maybe other people found it to be?
Kids Reads
Twenty by Jenny
Becky’s Book Reviews

Leave a Reply

