Book: Plague

"Plague"

A highly contagious, fatal illness is spreading at an alarming rate, while sinister, preadtory insects terrorize Perdido Beach. Sam, Astrid, Diana, and Caine are plagued by a growing doubt that they’ll escape–or even survive–life in the FAYZ. With so much turmoil surrounding them, what desperate choices will they make when it comes to saving themselves and those they love?

I hated it for the most part. And then things picked up near the end–and now, well, the excerpt for the fifth book has me looking forward to reading Fear. But that doesn’t change the way I feel about the Gone series–and this book in particular.

I feel like the premise and the promise of the series went to waste. Of course, not being the writer, I could be off-mark and this might be what author Michael Grant had in mind from the moment he started writing the first book. I must say though, this is not where I thought the book would go.

My chagrin remains with the Darkness. Now on the fourth book, this villain just feels so out of touch with the whole community aspect of the series. It does play a bigger role this time round though, and it does manage to push the action a little fast–but I still can’t feel any threat. Especially since we have Little Pete, a character who isn’t just invincible–he can make anything appear and disappear at will. He’s that powerful.

And at this point, I’ve completely lost my empathy for any of the lead characters. The only one I’m left rooting for, from the original book, are Lana and Edilio. Major characters in their own way, but not really the focus of the story.

That brings me to another complain: while Gone had a great handle on the ensemble cast of characteres, author Michael Grant seemed to have lost that grasp in the succeeding books. It’s weakest with Lies, but Plague is barely any better.

It’s a bad thing when I’m cheering on the villain to kill characters, just so the story could have a better focus.

On the plus side, Plague finally does move the plot along with regards to the barrier that surrounds the FAYZ. And that’s the only good thing I can say about this book.

Of course, I might just be a cynical and jaded old geezer. Other people have other opinions. Let’s check those out:
Overflowing Heart Reviews
Icey Books
Living in Fiction

One thought on “Book: Plague

  1. Pingback: Book: Dead of Night | taking a break

Leave a Reply

