Book: Mythspace Lift Off

"Myth Space Lift Off"

Kapre. Nuno. Manananggal. They are monsters of the past, remnants of primitive fantasies. UFOs. Aliens. Extraterrestrials. They are hallucinations, creations of modern science fiction. Or are they?

Evidence unearthed is debunked… or disappears. Witnesses who speak are ridiculed… or silenced. We are alone, say our leaders.

There are no Manananggal that consume our children. There are no Kapres who watch in the night. There are no aliens that abduct our neighbors. There are no UFOs with dazzling lights.

We were never alone.

These are not your Lola’s monsters. There are not your children’s aliens.

They are one and the same.

They are here.

Interesting premise: Filipino mythology as aliens instead of supernatural beings. It’s a novel idea. But the stories so far don’t give us a lot to go on.

In the maiden issue of the series, we get two stories and a whole bunch of extras.

I’m not going to talk about the extras yet as I don’t really know what they’re for. I’m not invested on the series yet for me to care about them. The stories though… The stories are a different matter.

In the first story we get, it’s the first time we learn that in this world the supernatural exists. Except they’re not supernatural–they’re extraterrestrial. And that’s a cool concept. It is. Unfortunately, it’s just a concept.

We get a main character with a lot of angst. And I believe that he can be a great hook for this particular story thread in Mythspace. Except, while we do understand where he’s coming from and his angst, his goal isn’t as clear.

There’s a desire to prove to naysayers that his family was right in believing in Kapres and the likes. But by episode’s end, he is already plucked his normal life that you don’t really know where he’s going next.

Honestly thought, what I really can’t latch on to here is the art. It’s not a fault of the storyteller or the artist, I’m just not a fan of this kind of art. I prefer the clean lines of the other story thread–with the manananggals.

But while I do like the art, I’m a bit worried about where the story is going. From the glimpse given us by the Lift Off issue, this other story is giving me a Cat’s Trail vibe–and not much else. I find myself not really caring about the characters–just the really pretty drawings.

So what am I saying?

I’m saying the Lift Off issue of Mythspace shows great promise–but it’s gonna take a couple more issues to see if it’s a title I want to stick with.

Other people have other views though, so let’s check out what they have to say:
One More Page
Jumper Cable
Crime-Fighting Call Center Agents

One thought on “Book: Mythspace Lift Off

  1. Pingback: Book: Mythspace | taking a break

Leave a Reply

